Colton and Gouverneur residents awarded presidential scholarships at SUNY Oswego
Tuesday, August 23, 2016 - 8:41 am

SUNY Oswego recently awarded presidential scholarships to Katrina E. Johnson in Colton and Daniel Sweet of Gouverneur.

The scholarships are $18,800 over four years, or $4,700 a year, for students residing on campus.

Off-campus presidential scholarships are $2,350 a year.

Johnson is a sophomore majoring in business administration.

Sweet is a freshman.

First-year students who have completed the strongest academic programs with the highest averages and standardized test scores are invited to become presidential scholars, according to a press release from the college.

The awards are part of about $5 million in merit scholarship money offered at SUNY Oswego.

A 155-year-old comprehensive college in the State University of New York system, Oswego enrolls about 8,000 students.