Lorenc named Massena Memorial Hospital Emergency Department medical director
Monday, September 9, 2019 - 5:57 am

MASSENA -- St. Lawrence Health System’s Dr. Jason Lorenc has been named Massena Memorial Hospital Emergency Department medical director and will lead the physician team there.

The MMH ED physician team includes doctors Lorenc, Jeffrey Shoub, Brandon Roberts, Mikhail Leykin, Julie Vieth, Ryan Coates, Justin Mackinnon, Frederick Laporte, Tiffany Bombard, Matthew Morgan, Don Frankel, Wayne Abrahams, and Derek Kennedy.

Massena Memorial Hospital Chief Executive Officer Dave Bender in a news release said he is pleased MMH will partner with St. Lawrence Health System in providing the Emergency Department staffing of physicians.

“This partnership for our ER is one example of an opportunity where we are sharing expertise and improving our quality of care,” said Bender.

“I will be the medical director of the ER and be working some clinical shifts,” Lorenc said. “The primary thing I want to do first is to learn the processes, flow and inner workings of the department. I’m also an assistant level director at both [Canton-Potsdam] and Gouverneur hospitals, which includes their acute care and after hours clinics as well.”

Lorenc said there are five doctors who will work at both CPH and MMH. “They are all credentialed at both hospitals, will work in both ERs and help co-ordinate patient care to ensure the best quality of care possible.”

“More than anything, I want to restore the community’s trust in the ER Department here at Massena Hospital,” Lorenc said.

Lorenc completed medical school at the State University of New York at Buffalo, followed by residency in emergency medicine at Geisinger Medical Center in Danville, Pa. He is American Board-certified in emergency medicine.