Claxton-Hepburn foundation honors greeter as volunteer of the year
Sunday, June 19, 2011 - 4:51 pm

OGDENSBURG – Claxton-Hepburn Medical Center Foundation recently named Lorraine Davis (left), greeter and switchboard volunteer as their volunteer of the year.

An emotional Lorraine accepted her award along with her department manager, Beth Stemples (right).

Brenda Reed, volunteer coordinator, shared the praises of CHMC employees such as, “She is always smiling, helpful and friendly to our patients. She is a real gem. She most definitely demonstrates characteristics of a great volunteer and makes everyone’s day a little bit brighter!”

Longevity awards were presented to Lorraine Davis and Ellen Zehr for ten years of volunteering and Patricia LaVigne for fifteen years of volunteering dedication.

Additionally, the following volunteers were recognized for outstanding attendance: Virginia Blakely 519 hours, Ellen Zehr 614 hours, Vicki Jennings 711 hours, and Jessica Carroll with 2,076 hours of service.

The foundation also named Kaleb Morrow Simmons, junior at Heuvelton Central School, as junior volunteer of the year.

Kaleb began volunteering for Claxton-Hepburn during February in our Physical Therapy Department, which is headed by Cinci Weaver.

He has been an inspiration to the entire staff and other volunteers.

Kaleb has an interest in pursuing a career in the medical field and continues to learn from the different departments he assists.

When asked what motivates him to continue volunteering, he simply stated, “My aunt took me to a recent Jules of Life event and I just said I have to volunteer, I have to do that!”