Republican majority narrows on county board, women victorious in three of four races
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 - 9:50 pm

The Democrats gained seats on the St. Lawrence County legislature in Tuesday's election, and women won in three of four districts where they sought a four-year term.

Going into the election, there was only one female legislator - Lisa Bell, a Democrat from Massena representing District 14. That seat now goes to Democrat Nicole Terminelli.

And Republican Rita Curran won District 15. District 11 went to Democrat Nance Arquiett. Democrat Kaitlyn Tyndall lost her bid for District 8 to Republican incumbent Kevin Acres, the board chair.

The GOP will keep their majority with eight seats, and the Dems have earned six. John Burke, endorsed by both parties, will retain his office but he often sides with Democrats.

Democrats flipped two legislative districts and the Republicans flipped one.

In District 15, Republican Rita Curran beat Democrat Shawna Cecot by a count of 1,337 votes to 1,166. Democrat incumbent Lisa Bell is stepping down at the end of her term.

In District 14, Democrat Nicole Terminelli, with 1,079 votes beat Republican Joel Grigg (584 votes) and Conservative Jim Hidy (215 votes). Democrat incumbent Greg Paquin is not seeking re-election.

In District 10, Democrat David Haggard won by more than a 2-1 margin over Republican Nicholas Pignone, 598-234. Republican incumbent Joe Timmerman is not seeking another four years.

In District 11, Democrat Nance Arquiett unseated Republican incumbent Chad Colbert by similar numbers, a tally of 2088 to 1,432.

In District 2, Republican incumbent David Forsythe easily won over Democrat Sam Lamacchia by a count of 1,412 to 663.

In District 3, Republican incumbent Joseph Lightfoot kept his seat by a small margin, 1,252 to 997 over Democrat Michael Hammond.

In District 4, Republican William Sheridan defeated Democrat Barbara Finnie 1,465 to 745. The seat was held by Republican Joel LaPierre.

In District 7, Democrat incumbent Rick Perkins defeated Republican Kevin Beary 1,619 to 1,313.

Incumbent Republican Kevin Acres surpassed Democrat challenger Kaitlyn Tyndall for the St. Lawrence County legislature's District 8, 1,374 votes to 1,119.

In uncontested races, James Reagan won District 1 with 1,361 to seven write-ins. Henry Leader held his seat in District 5 with 1,246 votes to three write-ins. Larry Denesha will keep District 6 with 1,833 votes to six write-ins. Democrat Daniel Fay will represent District 9 after getting 1,427 to two write-ins. Tony Arquiett will again represent District 13 with 1,432 votes to eight write-ins. In District 12, John Burke, a swing vote who is endorsed by the Dems and GOP, received 2,024 votes to two write-ins.

Going into Tuesday, Republicans held 10 of the county board's 15 seats. 

The results are unofficial and do not include absentee ballots.