Clarkson to honor faculty members by naming them professors emeriti for exemplary service
Friday, May 11, 2018 - 8:16 am

POTSDAM -- Clarkson University will honor several faculty members by naming them professors emeriti for exemplary service to the university at the spring 2018 commencement ceremony Saturday, May 12.

• Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering Thomas H. Ortmeyer. He will also hold the title of research professor. He has served as a faculty member at Clarkson for 39 years, and as chair of the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering from 2001 to 2010. His research interests include power, power transmission and distribution, power generation, and power and energy management. He works extensively with academic and industrial colleagues, including researchers at National Grid, Electric Power Research Institute, General Electric and Nova Energy Specialists.

• Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering John B. McLaughlin. He has served as a faculty member at Clarkson University for 44 years since joining the Department of Physics in 1974, then joining the then-Department of Chemical Engineering, and serving as department chair from 2012 until 2017. He has twice been the recipient of the student-selected Omega Chi Epsilon Teacher of the Year award.

• Professor of Communication & Media Wm. Dennis Horn. He came to the Department of Technical Communications from industry in 1981. He helped create and document tools for the new personal computers given to students; taught a course on the early internet; and was "the" early adopter of the World Wide Web at Clarkson in the early 1990s, which led to a significant grant from the Society for Technical Communication in 1994. Horn and his undergraduates implemented Clarkson's first web server with CU’s official presence on the web. He served as director of the Master of Science in Information Technology program for more than 15 years.

• Professor of Healthcare Management Martin A. Strosberg has been a faculty member for 33 years at Clarkson, and at Union College and Union Graduate College, before its merger into Clarkson. He directed the Union Graduate College and Union College MBA Program in Healthcare Management, and was director of the Union College Graduate Management Institute. Strosberg is one of the co-founders of the Master of Science in Bioethics Program of Clarkson University and the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

• Chair and Professor of Mechanical & Aeronautical Engineering Daniel T. Valentine. He started his academic career at Clarkson in 1983. He taught courses in fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, heat transfer, design and computational methods and was named department chair. Valentine served on the executive committee of the Ocean, Offshore and Arctic Engineering (OOAE) Division of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) for many years, holding a number of division leadership positions, including chair.

• Professor of Biology Craig D. Woodworth. He has been a faculty member at Clarkson for 18 years, four as chair of the Department of Biology. He has also directed the Pre-Health Professions Advising Program and the Interdisciplinary Bioscience & Biotechnology graduate program. His research is on the mechanisms by which papillomavirus perturb cell regulation and contribute to cervical cancer. He has been consistently funded by National Institutes of Health. Prior to coming to Clarkson, Woodworth was an investigator at the National Cancer Institute.

• Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering Poojitha D. Yapa. Yapa has served as a faculty member at Clarkson University for 34 years. His research has focused on environmental hydraulics problems, covering fundamental development and modeling in various aspects of oil and gas releases to the environment, geothermal fluid releases in the deep ocean, and carbon dioxide releases in the deep ocean. He single-handedly developed research programs in surface oil spill modeling and other unintended release difficulties. The U.S. government sought Yapa’s help during the Deepwater Horizon accident in the Gulf of Mexico, with real-time simulation modeling, and was part of a task group that calculated the oil discharge rate there.

• Former Director of Engineering & Management Professor Amy K. Zander. Over the past 26 years, Zander has made significant contributions as a teacher, scholar, and administrator in both the Wallace H. Coulter School of Engineering and the David D. Reh School of Business. As director of the Engineering & Management program, Zander led the Reh School of Business through several accreditations and made her mark on the program as an outstanding leader, scholar, teacher, and colleague. She was director of the Engineering & Management program from 2008 to 2017.