Troopers will be looking for speeders in North Country during ‘Speed Week’
Friday, June 8, 2018 - 3:00 pm

The New York State Police North Country Troop B will participate in a week-long enforcement initiative to crack down on speeding and aggressive drivers across the state. The “Speed Week” campaign runs through Wednesday, June 13.

Speeding is listed as a contributing factor in nearly one third of all fatal crashes in New York State. More than 42,000 people die as the result of traffic crashes each year in the U.S. and hundreds of thousands are seriously injured. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for people ages 3 to 33.

During this “Speed Week,” troopers will be using both marked State Police vehicles and unmarked vehicles, which the state police call Concealed Identity Traffic Enforcement (CITE) vehicles. They allow troopers to more easily identify motorists who are violating laws while driving, a press release from the state police says. These vehicles blend in with every day traffic but are unmistakable as emergency vehicles once the emergency lighting is activated.

Speeding by all vehicle types, as well as other traffic violations, will be heavily enforced throughout the week. Troopers will also be watching for other traffic violations, including distracted or impaired drivers, vehicle occupants who are not properly buckled up, and drivers that are violating New York’s Move Over law.

During the August 2017 Speed Week campaign, State Police issued more than 19,000 traffic tickets including more than 7,900 for speeding, and over 580 for distracted driving.

Here are the fines in New York for speeding in 55 mph highway zones or posted 65 mph zones:

• 10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $150

• 11- 30 mph over the limit - min $90/max $300

• 31 mph or more over the limit - min $180/max $600

Second Conviction

• 10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $300

• 11 - 30 over the limit - min $90 /max $450

• 31 or more over the limit - min $180/max $750

Third Conviction

• 10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $525

• 11 - 30 over the limit - min $90 /max $675

• 31 or more over the limit - min $180/max $975

Court Surcharges are as follows:

• Town or village courts - $93

• Other Courts (city traffic courts, etc.) - $88

The violation penalty point structure:

• 1-10 mph over limit = 3 points

• 11-20 mph over limit = 4 points

• 21 - 30 mph over limit = 6 points

• 30 - 40 mph over limit = 8 points

• More than 40 mph over limit = 11 points (triggers suspension)