Terrance, Wheeler take wins in Mohawk International Raceway contests Friday
Saturday, June 21, 2014 - 10:11 am


AKWESASNE –Mohawk International Raceway and Twin Leaf Express, Keegan's Tobacco and Frenchie's Ford presented a full race card Friday night.

Billy Dunn took the lead from the pole among the 358 Modifieds and looked to have the dominant car in the early going with Carey Terrance, Gage Morin, Ryan Arbuthnot and Chris Raabe making up the top 5. By lap 7 Dunn had built up over a 5 second advantage as he entered into lapped traffic while Terrance and Moring continued to give chase from 2nd and 3rd. Behind them Chris Raabe and Ryan Arbuthnot had a great battle for the 4th spot which Raabe would take full possession of on lap 9. On lap 11 the first yellow came out for Dexter Stacey who spun in turn 4. On the restart Dunn took the lead but Carey Terrance noticed the outside lane had a lot of grip and used that to charge around Dunn to go up into the lead. Terrance had one of the fastest cars on the track and began to drive away from Dunn building up a half straightaway advantage by lap 17. On lap 20 the yellow flew bunching up the field for another key restart. When the green flew 3 cars tangled on the front stretch bringing the yellow back out. Zach Aubertine received the most damage as he broke the front end on his race car sending him pit side for the night. On the final restart Dunn tried everything he could to get by Terrance as the top 2 put on a great show for the fans. On the final lap coming into turn 3 Dunn made one last charge on the high side but Carey Terrance was not to be denied as he held on for his first win of the year over Dunn, Chris Raabe, Gage Morin and Danny O'Brien.

The Frenchie's Ford "Go Further" Sportsman Series was set to go for 35 laps. Zach Arquiett took advantage of his pole position as he raced out to a quick lead over Brad Winters, Mike Maresca, Mike Arquiett and Darryl Nutting. The lead was short lived for Arquiett as the caution flew for Brad Winters who made contact with Arquiett sending him off turn 2. On the restart Mike Maresca took the top spot away over Zach and Mike Arquiett, Corey Wheeler and Darryl Nutting. Maresca looked to have the fastest car on the track but the yellow flew again on lap 5 for Winters who broke his front end in turn 2 ending his night. On the restart Maresca continued to stay strong in the top spot as defending track champion held the 2nd spot and remained within striking distance of the leader until the yellow came back out for Justin Lalancette who slowed in turn 4. When the green came back out Corey Wheeler decided he'd had enough of running 2nd and used the top side of the speedway to get by Maresca on lap 21 with Maresca and Mike Arquiett rounding out the top 3. Dylan Evoy noticed how Wheeler got the lead and decided that he would try the top shelf and would make it work as he charged around to take position number 2 away from Maresca and quickly reel in the leader with 8 laps to go. On lap 28 Brianna Ladouceur who was running in the top 10 spun coming off turn 2. On the final restart it was a classic battle between Wheeler and Evoy as the top 2 raced wheel to wheel throughout the final 4 laps. The defending track champ would not back down as he scored his first ever Frenchie's Ford Series win over Evoy, Maresca, Ricky Thompson and Mike Arquiett.

The Lightning Sprints from Quebec were also on the card this past Friday night and Charles-David Dumont was making his 2nd ever start and looked fast in the early going as he took over the lead at the drop of the green flag. Tomy Moreau slowed to a stop in turn 2 bringing out the first yellow which brought a very fast Mathieu Bourgoin along side of Dumont for the restart. When the green flew Bourgoin took command of the race. The red flag flew on lap 17 for Jordan Poirier who caught fire in turn 4. Poirier would climb out unhurt. Bourgoin however would pull away on the final restart and cruise to the easy win over Dumont, Eric Sunborg, Guillaume Neiderer and Pierre-Yves Joyal.

In the Bandit division Matt Zira took the lead from the drop of the green flag in the 10 lap event. Zira was unstoppable on this night as he dominated the caution free race becoming the first 2 time winner of the season over last week's winner Randy Whiting, Corey Castell, Tim Tupia and Darryl Mainville.

Next week the TUSA Mod Lite Series will be in action along with a full show plus the kids’ tire race. The green flag drops at 7:30pm.

Mohawk International Raceway is in Akwesasne, midway between the Seaway International Bridge to Cornwall, ONT and the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino. From Route 37, turn south onto Frogtown Road. Racing is held on Friday nights at 7:30 PM from May through September, featuring the Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, Mod Lites as well as the Bandit division. Visit www.MohawkInternationalRaceway.com. The MIR office is located at the track, and the phone number is 518-358-9017. The track is owned and operated by Mohawk International Raceway, LLC.


<!-- /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-unhide:no; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; mso-bidi-font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-language:JA;} .MsoChpDefault {mso-style-type:export-only; mso-default-props:yes; font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:"MS 明朝"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi; mso-fareast-language:JA;} @page WordSection1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.WordSection1 {page:WordSection1;} -->

358 Modified

CAREY TERRANCE, Billy Dunn, Chris Raabe, Gage Morin, Danny O'Brien, Alan Therrien, Lance Willix, Ryan Arbuthnot, Jordan McCreadie, Brian McDonald, Tom Conklin, John Mulder, Travis Stacey, Dexter Stacey, Casey Swamp, Dany Bilodeau, David Papineau, Charlie Rice, Delbert Legrow, Tom Jock Jr., Preston Forbes, Matt Woodruff, Clement Therrien, Zach Aubertine, Joel Doiron


Frenchie's Ford Sportsman Series

COREY WHEELER, Dylan Evoy, Mike Maresca, Ricky Thompson, Mike Arquiett, Robert Delormier, Brent Kelsey, Louie Jackson Jr., Darryl Nutting, Adam Rozon, Zach Arquiett, Gilles Godard, Mike Stacey, Wyatt Mullin, Bryan Green, Thomas Cook, Joel Hargrave, Jasmine David, Brianna Ladouceur, Billy Cook, Ryan Helm, Scott Mere, Andrew Fish, Justin Lalancette, Brad Winters


Lightning Sprints

MATHIEU, BOURGOIN, Charles-David Dumont, Eric Sundborg, Guillaume Neiderer, Pierre-Yves Joyal, Alex Therrien, Benjamin Mathieu, Alex Vigneault, Chantal, Provencher, Stephane St. Laurent, Mario Moreau, Tomy Moreau, Kathy Caissy, Jordan Poirier



MATT ZIRA, Randy Whiting, Corey Castell, Tim Tupia, Darryl Mainville, Scott Banker, Darryl Mitchell