SUNY Canton presidential search committee now complete with appointment of faculty members
Saturday, August 24, 2013 - 8:56 pm

CANTON – With the election of faculty members, SUNY Canton has completed selection of a committee to search for a new president of the college.

The college’s Faculty Assembly has chosen Tony Beane, Sue Buckley, Liz Erickson, Will Fassinger, Maureen Maiocco, and Ron Tavernier to serve on the search committee with previously chosen members, according to an email message to the college community.

College Council President Ron O’Neill, chair of the presidential search effort, has already selected the non-faculty members.

The rest of the committee is College Council members Marie Regan, Tom Sauter, and Roger Sharlow; Foundation representative Ed Coombs; alumni representative Dale Major; student representative Ornella Parker; professional and support staff representative Stacey Basford; Academic Dean Jondavid Delong; and presidential appointee SUNY Oswego President Dr. Deborah Stanley.

A presidential search plan for SUNY Canton was approved in June and a search committee was formed then, but since then the guidelines set by SUNY administration in Albany were updated.

Longtime SUNY Canton President Joseph Kennedy stepped down just about a year ago. Carli Schiffner was installed as interim president, but she left the job earlier this year to be vice president of instruction at Wenatchee Valley College in Wenatchee, Wash.

Dr. Joseph C. Hoffman, former SUNY Maritime College provost and vice president for academic affairs, was appointed acting president of the college effective June 1.

As acting president, Hoffman is eligible to be considered as a candidate for a full presidential appointment, but at last report, after only two months on the job, he had not decided if he will put his name forward because he wanted to take more time to see if he and the college would be a good fit for each other.

The search is expected to run through the spring 2014 semester.