SUNY Canton, with hot hand, hosts college volleyball national championship this weekend
Wednesday, October 31, 2012 - 9:06 am

CANTON -- SUNY Canton will host the 2012 United States Collegiate Athletic Association Women’s Volleyball National Championship Nov. 2-4.

The SUNY Canton women’s volleyball team enters the tournament as one of the hottest teams in the country as the Roos are riding a 17-match winning streak with a 24-2 overall record. The Roos are also 12-0 on their home court in Roos House.

Pool play games and elimination round games will be played in both Roos House and Dana Hall. Tickets are $5 per day, kids under five are free and SUNY Canton students are admitted free with ID.

SUNY Canton is the third seed in the tournament. They play their first game against the top seed Daemen College on Friday, Nov. 2 at 10 a.m. in Roos House and then take on the fifth seed, Carlow University (Pa.) at 2:30 in Roos House.

On Saturday SUNY Canton will play two games in the college's former athletic facility, Dana Hall. The Roos play the University of Cincinnati-Clermont at 10 a.m. and then Penn College at 2:30 p.m.

Immediately after the final pool play games on Saturday, the top four teams in each pool will be re-seeded based on their pool play record. The elimination round begins at both venues at 4 p.m.

On Sunday the championship and consolation games will both be in Roos House. The consolation game is at 2 p.m. and the championship game is at 4 p.m.

Florida College is the defending national champions and are the fourth seed in the this year's tournament. The Falcons have won eight USCAA national championship since 2000. The only other school in this year's field that has won a volleyball national championship is Rochester College, which won back-to-back titles in 1998 and 1999.

SUNY Canton, Daemen and Carlow are making their first appearances in the USCAA national championship. Johnson and Wales University (N.C.) and New Hampshire Technical Insitute return to the tournament after a three-year absence. Penn College was chosen for the second straight year and Cincinnati-Clermont and Penn State Fayette are perennial participants in the tournament.

The schedule can be seen at