St. Lawrence NYSARC elects officers, honors staff and volunteers
Monday, June 14, 2010 - 6:33 am

St. Lawrence NYSARC held their annual dinner meeting recently at SUNY Potsdam.

The agency elected officers for 2010-2011 and honored staff members, volunteers and participants at the meeting.

St. Lawrence NYSARC’s Board of Directors for 2010-2011 are Patricia Campanella, President; Jackie Sauter, First Vice President; Anne Townsend, Second Vice President; Clyde Butz, Treasurer; and Phyllis Shimmel, Secretary.

Staff members, program participants, volunteers, and employees were recognized for their achievements during the past year. Jane DuBray of Gotta Dance Studio in Massena was honored with the agency’s 2010 Community Spirit Award. DuBray was chosen in appreciation for her work as a volunteer dance teacher for the Community Arts Program. She was recognized for donating hundreds of hours and for being a driving force for integration of people with disabilities into the community.

The St. Lawrence NYSARC Staff Member of the Year for 2009 is Canton and Norwood Transportation Manager Sandy Layo. Layo was selected for her dedication, organization, and reliability. Doug McIntosh received the 2009 Seaway Industries Employee of the Year Award. He works at a variety of the agency’s Seaway Industries locations including Canton and Ogdensburg. McIntosh was recognized for his positive attitude, tireless work ethic, and long-standing commitment as an employee.

Board members and administration also recognized staff members celebrating an anniversary for years of service: for five years of service, Katherine Blair, Amy Bush, Louise Conant, Rose Cook, Mary Coyle, Dawn Daniels, Jerry Filiatrault, Justin Franklin, Jason Gordon, Douglas Hurteau, Joseph Knox, Karen Kraus, Genevieve LaBow, Kimberly Lawton, Richard Mayer, Audrie Miller, Tabitha Peck, Charles Schloer, Paul Smith, Gregory Southwick, Donna Sweet, Alice Wells, and Kelly Wood.

Honored for 10 years of service were Nicole Aldridge, Verna Aldridge, Barbara Frost, Patricia Green-Coffey, Margaret Griffin, Kathleen Grubee, Cynthia Harris, Nicole Kerr, Earline LaFleur, Laurie LaPoint, Steven Liebfred, Francis McDougal, Kimberly McGregor, Elma Rafter, Claire Richardson, Darcy Sharpe, Tim Snyder, Kendra Travis, Karen Webster, John Whalen, and Edward Yerden.

In honor of 15 years of service, the agency acknowledged Deborah Clark, Cindy Fisher, Gayle Flanagan, Lisa Gravlin, Ralph Higgins, Lucile Hudson, Kathy Jesmer, Betty LaPage, Donald McPherson, Michele Ortiz, James Powers, Roxanne Snyder, Kevin Sweeney, and Lola Weekes.

Staff members recognized for 20 years of service were Tammy Charleson, Cathy Clark-Lawrence, Deborah Cota, Betty Mullaney, Cassie Reagan, Lori Snyder, and Julie Wunder.

St. Lawrence NYSARC also honored Barbara Agen, William Almasy, Shirley Clark, Lillian Cuthbert, Nancy Davis, Dennis Durant, Mary Garris, Terry Kenny, James Love, Jane Peets, and Timothy Welpe for 25 years of service.

James Liebfred, Jr. was recognized for 30 years of employment at the agency.

St. Lawrence NYSARC is a non-profit membership association dedicated to full inclusion and integration of persons with intellectual and other developmental disabilities within our communities. The agency’s mission is to offer individuals and their families an opportunity to achieve self-determined goals and provide life-long learning opportunities.

For more info visit