St. Lawrence County Democratic Committee unanimously endorses Woolf for congressional race
Wednesday, March 5, 2014 - 11:40 am

The St. Lawrence County Democratic Committee has unanimously endorsed the documentary filmmaker from Elizabethtown as the Democratic candidate for the 21st Congressional District.

The announcement follows a meeting between committee members and Aaron Woolf in Potsdam Tuesday night.

“We had the opportunity to sit down with Aaron and discuss the issues that are important to the North Country,” said a prepared statement from committee members released by Jennie Bacon, who is the Democratic Commissioner in the county Board of Elections office.

“Without a doubt, Aaron is the best person to represent these interests in Washington.”

On Feb. 12, the 12 county Democratic Chairs of the North Country Congressional District had already chosen Woolf to seek the seat being vacated by Rep. Bill Owens, D-Plattsburgh.

“In these trying times, it is important that we elect someone who truly has our best interests in mind; someone who has the character, the knowledge and the integrity to continue to fight to move our district forward,” said committee members in a prepared statement.

Woolf, a newcomer to elective politics, has directed “King Corn” and other award-winning films and PBS specials.

Woolf, also a small business owner, owns a house in Elizabethtown with his wife Carolyn. They have a daughter.

The Republicans in the district have endorsed George W. Bush aide Elise Stafanik of Essex County as their candidate. However, two-time Congressional Candidate Matt Doheny of Watertown, along with retired U.S. Army major Joseph Gilbert, a tea party leader from St. Lawrence County, and political consultant Jamie Waller of Hamilton County, have all said they intend to seek the Republican nomination.

Woolf is the only Democratic candidate to emerge so far. He also operates a business in Brooklyn.

New York’s 21st Congressional District includes St. Lawrence, Jefferson, Lewis, Hamilton, Herkimer, Franklin, Clinton, Essex, Fulton, Warren, Washington and Saratoga counties.