Sen. Griffo to be Banks Committee chairman
Monday, January 28, 2013 - 5:14 pm

Sen. Joseph A. Griffo (R-C-IP, Rome) was again named to serve as chair of the Senate Banks Committee for the 2013 legislative session.

Griffo represents the 47th District, which includes the St. Lawrence County towns of Massena, Brasher, Norfolk, Stockholm, Potsdam, Pierrepont, Russell, Clifton, Fine and Pitcairn, and Lewis and Oneida counties.

The Banks Committee reviews legislation regarding the state’s mortgage brokers, mortgage bankers, check cashers, money transmitters, budget planners, credit unions and similar providers of financial services.

Griffo has also been named to the Senate Finance Committee. The influential Finance Committee is considered one the busiest of the Senate’s senior committees. It is in charge of reviewing the state budget and all legislation with a financial impact.

Griffo was also named to fill posts on the following committees: Commerce, Economic Development and Small Business; Crime Victims, Crime and Correction; Cultural Affairs, Tourism, Parks and Recreation; Energy and Telecommunications; Higher Education; Racing, Gaming and Wagering; and Veterans, Homeland Security and Military Affairs.