Primary day today busy for county GOP; Democrats voting for 47th Senate seat, two statewide races
Tuesday, September 14, 2010 - 12:18 pm

As St. Lawrence County voters head to the polls Tuesday, the Republicans will be the party to watch.

Republicans in St. Lawrence County have several primary contests today, while Democrats in the county, aside from statewide races, are only choosing a candidate in the state’s 47th Senate District on Primary Day.

The county treasurer’s position is up for grabs with the retirement of longtime treasurer Bob McNeil. Two Republicans, Canton Town Supervisor David Button and current Deputy Treasurer Kevin Felt, are vying for the nomination. Democrats have no nominee in the race, but both Felt and Button will appear on other party lines on the November ballot.

Two high-profile candidates are running for the Republican ballot line against Democrat Rep. Bill Owens, who won a special election to fill the seat vacated by former Rep. John McHugh when he assumed the Cabinet job of heading the Department of the Army.

Conservatives’ favorite Douglas L. Hoffman of Lake Placid, who placed second behind Owens and ahead of Assemblywoman Dede Scozzafava in the three-way special election, faces Watertown investor Matthew L. Doheney for the Republican line in the November contest for the 23rd Congressional District seat.

Meanwhile, the only race for the Democrats involves two candidates vying to unseat Sen. Joe Griffo, R-Utica.. Maria Pavelock of Clinton is in the running along with Oneida County Legislator Michael J. Hennessy.

In the county Board of Legislators races, three districts have two each from the GOP looking for the party’s line in November.

In District 8, Town of Madrid and parts of Potsdam and Canton, where Democrat Tedra Cobb is not running again, recent high school graduate Matthew J. Flynn II is facing Kevin Acres.

In District 7, representing the towns of Parishville, Hopkinton, Pierrepont, Colton, Clare and Piercefield, Lucien Plante and Scott Sutherland will square off for the GOP nomination.

In District 15, Waddington and Louisville, Kevin Peretta and Jonathan Putney each vies for the nomination.

The Ogdensburg City Judge contest has two Republicans running, Mary E. Rain and William R. Small.

Democrats have a statewide primary to choose a candidate for attorney general. Candidates are Richard L. Brodsky, Eric. T. Schneiderman, Seam Coffey, Eric R. Dinalo, and Kathleen M. Rice.

U.S. Sen. Kirsten E. Gillibrand, appointed to fill the seat vacated when Hillary Clinton was appointed to be Secretary of State, is being challenged by Gail Goode for the Democratic nomination to run for the last two years of the Senate term.

Conservatives have a statewide primary for governor, between Rick A. Lazio and Ralph C. Lorigo.

Polls are open throughout the county from noon to 9 p.m.

Stay with all night Tuesday for up-to-the-minute election results, which will be posted on the home page.