Potsdam Central students win Pi Mu Epsilon Interscholastic Mathematics Contest at SLU
Thursday, April 21, 2011 - 11:50 am

CANTON - A team from Potsdam Central School won the 67th Annual Pi Mu Epsilon Interscholastic Mathematics Contest, held recently at St. Lawrence University and sponsored by the University's mathematics, computer science and statistics department and the local chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon, the mathematics honorary.

Members of the winning team from Potsdam are Ben Miller, Michael Burns, Ruisheng Wang, Sabastian Grimberg and James Merrill.

Sixty-nine students from 14 area high schools participated in the contest, which consisted of an individual examination and team-challenge problems.

The Gold Medal in individual competition went to Connor Pierce of Heuvelton; the Silver Medal to Ben Miller of Potsdam; and the Bronze Medal to John Gilbert of Parishville-Hopkinton.

The Robert Cromie Scholarship, named in honor of Emeritus Professor of Mathematics Robert Cromieworth and worth up to $5,000, is given to the top-ranking senior or one of the four alternates should they choose to attend St. Lawrence University. This year's top-ranking senior is Gilbert; the four alternates are Burns and Wang from Potsdam, Andrew Tupper from Canton and Grimberg from Potsdam.

Scholarships to St. Lawrence are also awarded for the three top-ranked non-seniors: Connor Pierce of Heuvelton, Miller of Potsdam, and Shayla Williams of Colton-Pierrepont, in the amounts of up to $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000, respectively.

In team competition, Potsdam placed first, Heuvelton placed second, and Canton placed third. The highest-ranking member for each team was as follows: Heather Nicholson from Brasher Falls, Tupper from Canton, Williams from Colton-Pierrepont, Kevin McNamara from Edwards-Knox, Brittany Connant from Gouverneur, Pierce from Heuvelton, Chris Naccari from Madrid-Waddington, Kristen McKeel from Massena, Michael Tuper from Morristown, Christian Stratlen from Norwood-Norfolk, John Gilbert from Parishville-Hopkinton, Miller from Potsdam, Anna Kelly from Salmon River and Matthew Bishop from St. Regis Falls.

The top 10 in individual competition were Pierce from Heuvelton, Miller from Potsdam, Gilbert from Parishville-Hopkinton, Burns from Potsdam, Wang from Potsdam, Tupper from Canton, Williams from Colton-Pierrepont, Grimberg from Potsdam, Tim Rapcxinski from Colton-Pierrepont and Stratlen from Norwood-Norfolk.