Polls in St. Lawrence County open until 9 p.m. for Republican primary
Tuesday, June 24, 2014 - 2:35 pm

Polls in St. Lawrence County will be open until 9 p.m. as Republican Party voters throughout the 21st Congressional District choose between Matt Doheny of Watertown and Elise Stefanik of Willsboro today to represent them on the November ballot.

Both candidates will appear on the ballot anyway, as Stefanik has the endorsement of the Conservative Party and Doheny has the backing of the Independence Party. But the GOP ballot line, which will be the second line down on the ballot this year, is an important one.

Turnout is expected to be light, in terms of the percentage of eligible Republicans who will actually go and vote today, and that is typical for a primary. Those most motivated by the issues are the people most likely to turn out.

Because of the low turnout expected, the St. Lawrence County Board of Elections will bot open every polling station they would staff for a general election, but at least one station in each township is open.

Doheny, a Watertown businessman who is taking his third shot at obtaining the GOP line in a congressional race, has lost in the last two elections to incumbent Democrat Bill Owens of Plattsburgh, who has chosen not to run again.

Yesterday Doheny boasted of the support of former Major League Baseball pitcher Tommy John, whom Doheny said via his Facebook page was calling on voters to choose him.

Stefanik, a Harvard University graduate who went to work for the party and the Bush White House after graduation, has a full appearance schedule today, with stops in Plattsburgh, Willsboro, Saratoga Springs, Washington and Warren Counties, winding up in Glens Falls where she will watch as the returns come in tonight.

Democrat Aaron Woolf, a filmmaker from Elizabethtown and Manhattan, and Green Party baker Matt Funiciello of Glens Falls, have obtained their parties’ support and will also appear on the November ballot.

The St. Lawrence County Board of Elections says that, due to the expected low turnout, polling places for all voting districts in each township and the City of Ogdensburg are consolidated to one voting location each, all of which are listed below.

The consolidated polling locations follow:

• Brasher, Brasher Municipal Building, 11 Factory St.

• Canton, Canton Fire Department, 77 Riverside Dr.

• Clare, Clare Town Hall, 3441 County Rte. 27

• Clifton, Newton Falls Town Office, 66 River Rd.

• Colton, Community Center, 9 Sugarbush Ln.

• DeKalb, DeKalb Town Hall, 2907 County Rte. 17

• DePeyster, Masonic Temple, 4404 County Rte. 10

• Edwards, Town Hall, 161 Main St.

• Fine, Municipal Office Building, 4078 State Rte. 3, Star Lake

• Fowler, Town Hall, 87 Little York Rd., Gouverneur

• Gouverneur, Gouverneur Fairgrounds, 209 Rock Island St.

• Hammond, Hammond Fire Department, 300 Lake St.

• Hermon, Hermon Fire Department, 1651 County Rte. 21

• Hopkinton, Town Hall, 151 Church St.

• Lawrence, Lawrenceville Fire Department, 1081 County Rte. 54

• Lisbon, Hepburn Library, 6899 County Rte. 10

• Louisville, Municipal Building, 14810 State Hwy. 37, Massena

• Macomb, Town Hall, 6663 State Hwy. 58, Brasie Corners

• Madrid, Hepburn Library, 11 Church St.

• Massena, Community Center, 61 Beach St.

• Morristown, Morristown fire hall, 200 Morris St.

• Norfolk, Norfolk Rescue Squad, 7 Sedwick St.

• Ogdensburg, Dobisky Center, 100 Riverside Ave.

• Oswegatchie, Heuvelton Fire Department, 95 State St., Heuvelton

• Parishville, Town Hall, 1772 State Hwy. 72

• Piercefield, Town Hall, 48 Waller St.

• Pierrepont, Town Hall, 864 State Hwy. 68, Pierrepont Center

• Pitcairn, Town Hall, 10 Edwards Rd., Pitcairn Forks

• Potsdam, Town Offices, 18 Elm St.

• Rossie, Town Barn, 908 County Rte. 3

• Russell, Town Hall, 4 Pestle St.

• Stockholm, Brasher-Winthrop Fire Department, 708 State Hwy. 11C, Winthrop

• Waddington, Municipal Building, 48 Maple St.