Ogdensburg charter commission recommends changes to candidate selection, term limits
Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 2:55 pm


OGDENSBURG – Recommendations from the Ogdensburg Charter Commission call for the city to change the way it selects candidates for office.

The commission is calling on the council to consider selecting councilors from six distinct election districts rather than the current “at large” method. Under the current charter candidates for any seat on the council can be from anywhere in the city.

The recommendation from the commission use the six districts established election districts the zones for which candidates would be selected.  Candidates running for a particular district would need to live within the district which they plan to represent.

The mayoral candidates would continue to run at large.

The commission also recommends staggering terms and placing limits on how long an official can serve. Under the plan councilors would have four-year terms, with elections held on odd years. Three councilors would be selected each odd year. The mayor would be selected every other odd year.

For the position of mayor and councilor, a three-term limit would be implemented.

If the city approves the recommendations, they would take effect beginning in 2019.

Members of the Ogdensburg Charter Commission include Chairman Frederick Bean and commissioners Joseph Basta, Storm Cilley, Kevin Kendall, Douglas Loffler, Sean McNamara, Scott McRoberts, Sean O’Brien, Laura Pearson, Christopher Pitcher, Andrew Putman and John Wilson, Sr.

Sean McNamara is an employee of North Country This Week.