Northern New York Community Foundation taking scholarship applications from high-schoolers through April 1
Thursday, March 28, 2013 - 2:52 pm

The Northern New York Community Foundation is accepting scholarship applications through April 1 from residents of St. Lawrence County.

The foundation will award one-year freshman scholarships to students in the following school districts: Canton, Colton-Pierrepont, Edwards-Knox, Gouverneur, Hammond, Harrisville, Hermon-DeKalb, Heuvelton, Lisbon, Madrid-Waddington, Massena, Morristown, Norwood-Norfolk, Ogdensburg, Parishville-Hopkinton, Potsdam and St. Lawrence Central.

Applications can be downloaded and printed from the foundation’s website, Applications are also available at high school guidance offices, the Jefferson Community College financial aid office and from the foundation office.

Scholarships for St. Lawrence County students will be up to $2,000 for one year based upon unmet financial need as determined by the student’s college.

Students selected for a scholarship who have no unmet financial need will receive a one-time merit award of $500.

Completed applications must be returned to the foundation or postmarked by April 1.

An extended application deadline of June 1 will be offered to non-traditional students only.

The Foundation awarded $740,662 to 352 students for the 2012-13 academic year. Since 1980 the Foundation has awarded more than $11 million in scholarships.

For more information or for scholarship applications visit