Northern Border economic development grant applications due by Aug. 30
Thursday, August 26, 2010 - 8:59 am

The lead state agency for managing the Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC) grant program for New York State says economically “distressed” counties, including St. Lawrence, will get priority.

Applications are due by Aug. 30.

The federal-state regional commission targets new resources to promote wealth generation and economic growth strategies and projects within the four-state, 36 county region of Maine, New Hampshire, New York and Vermont. Federal funds totaling $1.3 million is available through NBRC for eligible projects.

New York is home to 14 of the 36 counties. Priority for grants will be given to seven of the 14 New York counties defined as “distressed” -- St. Lawrence, Franklin, Lewis, Herkimer, Fulton, Oneida, and Oswego counties.

The Northern Border Regional Commission’s primary responsibility will be to assist in the creation and implementation of regional economic development plans that will reduce poverty, address changing land use, and improve the quality of life for residents. The Commission will use a “bottom-up” approach where local development districts, non-profit organizations, and others bring project ideas and priorities to the commission from the local level. It will also make grants for projects that are consistent with those local economic development plans.

NBRC eligible projects must adhere to one of the following:

• Develop the transportation, water, sewer, energy and telecommunications infrastructure of the region.

• Assist the region in obtaining job skills and employment related education, as well as entrepreneurship, technology and business development.

• Provide basic health care and other public services for those areas that are severely economically distressed and underdeveloped.

• Promote resource conservation, tourism, recreation and preservation of open spaces in a manner consistent with economic development goals.

• Promote the development of renewable and alternative energy sources.

The ESD Plattsburgh Regional Office, working closely with Local Development Districts in the eligible areas, will provide technical assistance to grant applicants and accept applications.

Applications for NBRC grants should be postmarked by Aug. 30 and emailed to ESDC Regional Office Plattsburgh, Attn: Roseanne Murphy, 401 West Bay Plaza, Plattsburgh, NY 12901.

More info is available by calling (518) 561-5642, or emailing [email protected].