Nearly 300 motorists cited in St. Lawrence County for 'Speed Week'
Friday, August 11, 2017 - 5:34 pm

In St. Lawrence County, state police issued 297 citations during what they call “Speed Week,” which they describe as a “special traffic enforcement period” which ran Aug. 2 to 8.

That included 128 people cited for speeding, one for driving while intoxicated, one for driving while ability impaired, nine for districted driving, 12 for seatbelt or child restraint violations and one for a move-over violation.

Troopers say they targeted speeding and aggressive drivers across the state. Troopers watched for impaired and distracted drivers, vehicle occupants who were not properly buckled up, and drivers who violated the "Move Over Law," which requires motorists to exercise extreme caution when passing emergency vehicles that are stopped in or on the side of the road, according to a news release from Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s office.

The State Police supplemented regular patrols statewide, including the use of Concealed Identity Traffic Enforcement (CITE) patrol vehicles, which they say help to better locate drivers talking or texting on hand held devices. “These unmarked vehicles blend in with every day traffic but are unmistakable as emergency vehicles once the emergency lighting is activated,” Cuomo’s office said.

"Reckless driving puts everyone on the road at risk and with the Speed Week campaign, we make it clear that it will not be tolerated in New York," the governor said in a prepared statement. "State Police and local law enforcement continue to be diligent in their enforcement efforts to put the brakes on drivers who endanger others and disregard the law."

"This traffic enforcement campaign serves as a reminder to motorists of the importance of safe driving, and the tragedies that can result by not following the law. Those who speed and drive recklessly will be held accountable,” New York State Police Superintendent George P. Beach II said in a prepared statement.

The Speed Week initiative is funded through the Governor's Traffic Safety Committee.