More than 75 from St. Lawrence County complete Utica Boilermaker; Massena man, Potsdam woman top local finishers
Wednesday, July 13, 2011 - 12:04 pm



UTICA -- More than 75 St. Lawrence County runners participated in the 2011 edition of the Utica Boilermaker 15 kilometer road race Sunday July 10 in the central New York city in the Mohawk Valley region.

Over 11,000 runners completed the 9.3-mile course with Tyler Hayes of Massena finishing 145th overall and 44th out of 587 runners in the 20-24 year old male category. Right behind him was Zach Dodge of Ogdensburg finishing 187th overall.

Ethan Townsend of Canton came in 217th place overall, John Newman of Rensselaer Falls finished 13th in the 35-39 male division and 221st overall, and Mike Howard of Canton came in 390th place.

Others finishing in the top 500 were Luke Dunkelberg of Gouverneur and Kevin Hollis of Ogdensburg.

On the ladies’ side,  Kristen Betrus of Potsdam placed 12th out of 619 runners in the female 35-39 age category followed by Stephanie Rogers of Canton who was 14th in the division. Colleen Cotey of Norwood came in13th out of 728 runners in the 20-24 age category.

Only five women in the 70-74 year old category finished the course and one of those was Nancy Skiff of Ogdensburg who ran with her daughter Paula Skiff.

Other notable performances were turned in by Kristin Shumway, Kevin Hollis, Alena Bicknell and Bob Rogers of Potsdam in their respective categories and Cindy McLean of Colton.

Other St. Lawrence County finishers included:

Potsdam -- Robert Taube, Stephen Sauer, Christopher Kellogg, Alexandra Sullivan, Brianna Bicknell, Michael Walters, Paula Skiff, Olivia Sullivan, Caitlyn and Kara Kubinski, Claudette Foisy, and Bryant Bullard

Canton -- Jim Fryer, Viola Schmid-Doyle, Matt Peacock, Laurie Sargent, Paula Jones, Aland Joseph, Brandon Crandall, Samantha Brown

Massena -- Larry Reynolds, Dale White, Kevin Ward, Rachelle Hayes, Dale White, Stephen Zakarauskas

Ogdensburg -- Heather Hollis, Katherine Wears, Craig and Nicole Thornhill, Kristen Sutton, Debbie Mcdonald, Eric Girard, Ryan Touron, Rory Young, Bennett Bartitell, Joshua Caruso, Daniel Dodge, Kathryn Durki, Nancy Skiff

Heuvelton -- Jane and Larry Kring

Dekalb Junction/Gouverneur -- Adam Miller/Heather Mackinnon

Waddington -- Meghan Van House

Norwood -- Dave Heinick, Daniel Colbert, Betty Burrows, Patrick J. Colbert.

Akwesasne -- Richard Benedict

Gouverneur -- Jacob D. Erdman, Ralph Trumble, Luke Dunkelberg, Robert Dunkelberg, Michael McCormick, Lindsey McCormick, Heather MacKinnon, Edward Siebels, Beth Siebels, Valeri Suestir.

Colton -- Daniel Knight, Chelsea Huyck, M. McLean

Madrid -- Shannon Robinson

Nicholville -- Jean Miller

Hannawa Falls -- Eugene and Sally Cross

Edwards -- Deborah Bullock

North Lawrence -- Lance St. Hilaire