Mohawk International Raceway results announced, championships approaching
Saturday, August 24, 2013 - 9:15 am

AKWESASNE -- The Mohawk International Raceway held round four of the Mohawk Racing Parts Pro Stock Series Friday, along with 358 Modifieds, Sportsman and Bandits races.

The Mohawk Race Parts Series was set and ready to go for 50 laps of racing and RochAubin showed his muscle early on taking the lead away over PJ Peters, Alain Brochu, Stephane Lebrun and Dave Bissonette.

Aubin was looking for his first win at Mohawk since May 17, but PJ Peters was about to make his presence known. The defending track champion took control of the event on lap 15 after Aubin got caught in lapped traffic.

Once in front Peters was on cruise control before the yellow flew on lap 18. On the restart Peters took the lead again over Aubin, Lebrun, Brochu and Stephane Lemire.

Aubin was back running strong and was able to take the lead back on lap 20 as he rocketed past Peters in turn four. Aubin had a fast race car as he pulled away from the field by five car lengths before the next caution flew on 22.

When the green came back out Aubin continued his great run as he once again pulled away from everyone, leaving Lebrun, Bissonette, Brochu, and Allen Peters battling in the top five.

The driver on the move in the closing laps was Jocelyn Roy. Roy started in the middle of the pack and worked his way to the fifth spot with 10 laps to go, using the outside of the speedway.

Roy was fresh off a win last Sunday night in Cornwall and was on a mission, getting by both Dave Bissonette and Stephane Lebrun with five laps remaining.

The caution flew for the final time with three laps remaining for a stopped car in turn two.

On the final restart Roy made an effort to get the lead from Aubin, but the Mohawk Series points leader was not to be denied as he scored his second win of the series and second of the year at MIR.

Roy came home a car length back in second, Lebrun, Bissonette, and Stephane Lemire rounded out the top five.

In 358 Modified action David Papineau jumped out to the early lead over Tom Conklinas as the field entered turn one.

The yellow flew quickly for Casey Swamp, who slowed in turn two. On the restart Conklin charged to the outside of the speedway to grab the lead with Chris Raabe, Jeff Sykes, Papineau, and Carey Terrance rounding out the top five. Conklin was on a mission as he pulled out to a six car length lead by lap 10, when the yellow flew for Travis Stacey, who spun in turn one.

With the leader having lane choice on the restart, Conklin chose the bottom but quickly slid in front of Raabe as the field headed into turn one.

Raabe was not about to back down as he crossed over, coming down the backstretch to take the lead, bringing Carey Terrance to second.

Conklin, Mario Clair, and Brian McDonald rounded out the top five.

Conklin's great night came to an end as he broke the suspension on the left rear forcing him pitside on lap 15.

Raabe was well out in front of the field during the final 10 laps but Carey Terrance kept within striking distance as the laps wound down.

With two laps remaining, Raabe almost came into contact with a lapped car in turn two, allowing Terrance to narrow the gap to a car length.

As the white flew Terrance knew he had to try something and he waited until turn three, when Raabe again came into more traffic.

Terrance drove deep into turn four, making contact with the 2011 champion, but Raabe held strong for his second win of the year by a car length over Terrance.

Mario Clair, Brian McDonald and Zach Aubertine completed the top five.

The Sportsman division was set for battle, and Adam Rozon was looking for his first win in over a year as he took the lead from the pole.

Rozon looked to have the fastest car on the race track as he led in the early part of the race, going over Mike Maresca, Nolan Swamp, Ricky Thompson, and Jenna David.

Mike Maresca has been running well all year and was not about to take a backseat to anybody as he took the top spot away from Rozon on lap 11.

Once in front Maresca was like a rocket as he pulled away from the field, leaving Adam Rozon, Nolan Swamp, Dylan Evoy, and last week's winner Corey Wheeler to battle in the top five.

Maresca clearly had the car to beat, and not even lapped traffic would slow his pace as the former pavement stand out took his first career Sportsman win in dominant form.

Rozon settled for seocnd, with Dylan Evoy, Nolan Swamp, and Corey Wheeler completing the top five.

The Bandit division had a special 20 lap event, sponsored by The Cig Shop, and Jean Marc Larose continued his dominating season by jumping out to the early race lead.

Larose would lead the opening three laps until the yellow flew for Travis Thompson, who slowed with smoke pouring out of his car.

On the restart Larose continued his great run but the man on the move was Randy Whiting.

After getting his first ever win two weeks ago, Whiting was on the charge for his second win of the year and took control of the event on lap seven with Larose, Joe McNichols, Mike Gaucher, and Quincy Roberts completing the top five.

Whiting was dominant on this night and would hold off Larose for his second win in three weeks in the Bandit division.

Brockville Speedway regulars Joe McNichols and Quincy Roberts came home third and fourth, while Scott Banks rounded out the top five.

Next week it is championship weekend, as all five divisions will decide track titles.

Final points in the Frenchie's "Chevy Runs Deep" 358 Modified Series as well as the Frenchie's Ford "Go Further" Sportsman Series will also be decided.

Gates open at 4:30 p.m., with racing to begin at 7 p.m., with a pit party after the races to celebrate a great season.

358 Modified

Chris Raabe, Carey Terrance, Mario Clair, Brian McDonald, Zach Aubertine, JeffSykes, Billy Dunn, Danny O'Brien, Joel Doiron, Lance Willix, Roy Delormier, Ryan Arbuthnot, Pierre Dagenais, Gabriel Richer, Perry Francis, Travis Stacey, Matt Woodruff, David Papineau, Tom Conklin, Jordan McCreadie, Casey Swamp


Mike Maresca, Adam Rozon, Dylan Evoy, Nolan Swamp, Corey Wheeler, Ricky Thompson, Daryl Nutting, Joey Ladouceur, Robert Delormier, Jenna David, Brent Kelsey, Wyatt Mullin, Scott Mere, Neal Provost, Louie Jackson Jr., Zach Arquiett, Brad Winters, Jasmine David, Brian Copp, Mike Arquiett, Mike Stacey, Thomas Cook, Ryan Helm, Delbert Legrow Jr., Josh Brockway, Andrew Fish

Pro Stock

Roch Aubin, Jocelyn Roy, Dave Bissonette, Stephane Lemire, George Renaud, AllenPeters, Charles-David Beauchamp, Alain Brochu, Guy Viens, Ronnie Tyo, Eli Gilbert, PJ Peters, Dan Desnoyers, Jocelyn Chicoine, Ghislain Valade, Marc Lalonde, Darryl Mainville, Owen White, Mike White, Bruno Cyr, Richard Bertrand, Claud Parisien, NickBurkham

09 Bandit

Randy Whiting, Jean Marc Larose, Joe McNichols, Quincy Roberts, Scott Banker, Darryl Mitchell, Moise Page, Peter Cename, Owen Oakes, Justin Desrosiers, Mike Gaucher, Cory Castell, Travis Thompson, Dudes Thompson, Mike Best