Massena school board appoints election inspectors, substitutes
Friday, April 4, 2014 - 2:39 pm

MASSENA -- The Board of Education appointed election inspectors for the May 20 budget and school board vote at the Massena Community Center.

Susan Bellor will work at chief inspector and receive $11 per hour. Christina Hamel, Jean Jarvo, Joanne Macomber, Barbara Cunningham and Mary Ann Taraska will serve as inspectors at $10 per hour. William Shirley will inspect and calibrate the election machines on May 19 and 20 for a $250 stipend.

The board also named Timothy Martin as a groundsman, effective March 10 at a $42,361 pro-rated salary. Cheryl Holmes was hired as a four-hour-per-day bus driver at a $13,221 pro-rated salary.

Vickie Oakes and Gabriel Hinkley were approved as substitute teachers at a rate of $100 per day; D'Ann Page and Zoe Zagrobelny were named substitutes at $80 per day.

Lori Cope was hired as a substitute bus driver at $15 per hour.

Christopher Castell, Mary Rose Connor, Ryan DeCarlo and Tanya LaShaomb were brought on-board as support staff substitutes at $9.50 per hour.

The board accepted a resignation from Claudeen Watkinds, district substitute caller, effective March 28. She cited personal reasons. They additionally okayed Madison Elementary School nurse Beverly Eastwood's retirement, effective July 31.