Just ahead of elections, Aubertine helps deliver signed certificate creating North Country Power Authority
Monday, November 1, 2010 - 9:17 am

As voters are about to head to the polls Tuesday, State Senator Darrel Aubertine joined the Alliance for Municipal Power over the weekend to deliver a certificate for the signed North Country Power Authority bill he sponsored, and the pen used to sign it, to Robert Best and members of the Alliance for Municipal Power.

The legislation, introduced by Aubertine and passed with broad bipartisan support, was signed into law last month. It enables AMP to finance and operate a municipal electrical system that will serve 24 municipalities in St. Lawrence and Franklin counties.

This legislation to create the North Country Power Authority would provide AMP towns and villages in St. Lawrence and Franklin counties with the ability to explore implementing owning and operating the transmission and distribution of electric power over the next 10 years. This initiative could provide thousands of New Yorkers in these municipalities with significantly reduced rates, more reliable service, and local control. Preliminary studies indicate the annual savings for rate-payers in the millions of dollars, as well as an average system-wide rate reduction of 4 percent.

AMP comprises the towns of Bombay, Fort Covington, Moira and Westville in Franklin County, and towns of Brasher, Canton, Colton, DeKalb, Edwards, Fowler, Gouverneur, Hermon, Lisbon, Louisville, Madrid, Norfolk, Pierrepont, Potsdam, Russell, Stockholm, and Waddington and the Villages of Canton, Norwood, and Potsdam in St. Lawrence County.

Sen. Aubertine, vice chair and ranking majority member of the Senate Energy & Telecommunications Committee, said “This is a victory giving these municipalities the opportunity to cut power costs and also bolster economic development in St. Lawrence County. This was only possible with the hard work of all those involved, including Chairman Best, and working across party lines to get the job done.”

Robert Best, Chairman of AMP, said “The towns and villages in St. Lawrence County that fall into the service area of the North Country Power Authority are now on the path to seeing not only quality service, but lower power costs going forward.”