FEMA declares diaster area for St. Lawrence and other counties following St. Lawrence River flooding
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 - 5:26 pm

Areas of the St. Lawrence River in St. Lawrence County affected by this year's flooding are now eligible for federal assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA on Tuesday declared a federal disaster in the wake of the flood, and North Country Sen. Patty Ritchie, R-Heuvelton, is applauding the move.

The declaration—which includes Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Oswego counties—allows federal funding to be made available to the state, local municipalities and certain not-for-profit agencies for the cost of emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by flooding.

“As heartbreaking as this spring and summer has been for our shoreline communities, it is just as painful to know that they are still struggling, doing everything they can to try and pick up the pieces of this devastation,” Ritchie said in a prepared statement. “As I continue to fight for the recovery of everyone in our shoreline communities, I want to thank FEMA and our federal representatives—especially Congresswoman Stefanik who I know advocated strongly for this declaration—for recognizing the importance of making sure we continue to get each of the affected municipalities the help they so desperately need.”