Dunn outruns Clair for 4th win of season at Mohawk International Raceway
Saturday, July 13, 2013 - 10:38 am

AKWESASNE – The racing action at Mohawk International Raceway was fast on Friday night, as the feature races did not suffer from a lot of accidents and yellow flags.

Some familiar faces made it to the winner’s circle once again.

In the 358 Modifieds Gilles Godard and Casey Swamp led the field to the green and Godard raced out to the early lead over Swamp, Jordan McCreadie, Mario Clair and Larry Welling. It didn't take long for the first yellow to fly as Lance Willix, Jeff Sykes and Chris Raabe tangled in turn 2.

On the restart Godard held on to the lead but Mario Clair was charging to the front. Clair had a fast car and was able to wrestle the lead away on lap 5 leaving Godard Billy Dunn, Larry Welling and Brian McDonald to battle it out in the top 5. Clair built up over a straight away advantage but 3 time winner Billy Dunn was on a mission.

After Godard slowed in turn 1 Dunn slipped on by for 2nd and tried to run down the leader. Dunn changed his line on the speedway as he moved to the top side of the track and immediately began gaining ground.

At the halfway point Dunn was able to close in and take the lead on the outside from Clair with Carey Terrance, McDonald and Raabe rounding out the top 5. Larry Welling's great night came to an end as he broke while running 5th, bringing out the yellow for the last time. On the final restart Dunn pulled away leaving Clair and the rest of the field behind.

Dunn had everything going his way on this night, as he went on to claim his 4th win in the last 5 weeks over Clair, McDonald, Chris Raabe recovered from the early race spin to finish 4th. Carey Terrance rounded out the top 5.

The Sportsman division was all about the trophy and check on this night. With the Seaway GM and Performance Series in Granby a special non points show was held. Louie Jackson Jr. was looking to take full advantage on this night as he took the lead at the drop of the green flag.

Jackson lead the opening 4 laps of the 20 lap affair with Wyatt Mullin, Corey Winters, Neal Provost and Nolan Swamp completing the top 5. On Lap 5 Swamp, Ryan Helm and Robert Delormier came together in turn 2 bringing out the first yellow flag. On the restart Jackson continued his march to victory lane but the man on the charge was 2 time and defending track champion Dylan Evoy. After getting to 2nd just before the halfway point he used the patience game to reel in Jackson.

The leaders headed into lapped traffic with 7 to go as Jackson still led the way over Evoy, Winter, Mullin and Delormier. On lap 14 Evoy was able to navigate traffic perfectly and take away the number 1 spot leaving Jackson to deal with the lapped cars.

Once in front Evoy showed his muscle as he pulled away by a straightaway to claim his 4th win of the season over Jackson, Corey Winters 2013 debut resulted in a 3rd place finish. Robert Delormier and Zach Arquiett rounded out the top 5.

In Pro Stock action Jocelyn Roy was looking to get to victory lane for the first time at MIR and showed his strength early on by jumping out to the early race lead.

Roy would pull out to a 4 car length lead with Ryan Stabler, Eugene Tarbell, Roch Aubin and PJ Peters rounding out the top 5. Stabler was able to clear all traffic and begin his pursuit of Roy just before the halfway point. On lap 9 Roy began to lose the handling on his car as he slipped up off the bottom of the speedway in turn 4.

Stabler was on his bumper and with 5 to go Stabler made the move in turn 3 to grab the lead. Behind him defending track champion PJ Peters started to go to work. He made his way to the 2nd spot with 3 to go and quickly reel in Stabler. On the final lap Peters came within a car length of the leader but it wasn't enough as Stabler took his first ever Mohawk win in the caution free race. Peters settled for 2nd, with Stephane Lebrun, Jocelyn Roy and Roch Aubin rounding out the top 5.

In Mod Lite action Scott Waldrif started on the pole and jumped out to the early race lead. Waldrif battled former track champion Mathieu Robinson for the lead in the early going until Joel Hargrave made a bid for the top spot on lap 3 just before the first caution flag flew. On the restart Hargrave jumped out to a strong lead over Waldrif, Robinson, Harley Brown and Dan Reif.

With the field battling hard nobody was catching Hargrave on this night, as he became the first 2 time winner in the Mod Lite division. Waldrif settled for 2nd with Harley Brown, Mathieu Robinson and Dan Reif completing the top 5.

The Bandits were set to go for their 10 lap feature event. Jean Marc Larose has been the man to beat all year and he flexed his muscle early by taking the lead into turn 1 from his 4th starting spot. Larose raced out to a half straightaway lead by the halfway point with Justin Desrosiers and Darryl Mitchell giving chase from 2nd and 3rd.

With no help from the caution flag nobody was catching Larose as he kept the win streak going with his 5th of the year. Darryl Mitchell was able to grab 2nd and Desrosiers crossed in 3rd.

Mohawk International Raceway is in Akwesasne, midway between the Seaway International Bridge to Cornwall and the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino. From Route 37, turn south onto Frogtown Road. Info: www.MohawkInternationalRaceway.com, (518) 358-9017.

The results:

358 Modified

BILLY DUNN, Mario Clair, Brian McDonald, Chris Raabe, Carey Terrance, Tom Conklin, Jeff Sykes, Joel Doiron, Justin Lalancette, Casey Swamp, Jordan McCreadie, Luke Stewart, Tom Benedict, Lee Miller, David Papineau, Larry Welling, Gilles Godard, Travis Stacey, Jenna David


DYLAN EVOY, Louie Jackson, Corey Winters, Robert Delormier, Zach Arquiett, Wyatt Mullin, Neal Provost, Billy Cook, Nolan Swamp, Thomas Cook, Mike Arquiett, Ronnie Tyo, Delbert Legrow Jr., Ricky Thompson, Jasmine David, Scott Mere, Josh Brockway, Ryan Helm

Pro Stock

RYAN STABLER, PJ Peters, Stephane Lebrun, Jocelyn Roy, Roch Aubin, Allen Peters, Marc Lalonde, Mike White, Eugene Tarbell, Claude Parisien, Darryl Mainville


JEAN MARC LAROSE, Darryl Mitchell, Justin Desrosiers, Corey Castell, 33B, Dudes Thompson, Scott Banker, Randy Whiting, 91, Edward Lemieux

Mod Lite

JOEL HARGRAVE, Scott Waldrif, Harley Brown, Mathieu Robinson, Dan Reif, Brad Reif, Derek Ellsworth, Tim Reif