Dunn, Maresca, Roy, Whiting and Varin claim victories on final points night at Mohawk International Raceway in Akwesasne
Saturday, August 31, 2013 - 10:43 am

By Tim Baltz

AKWESASNE – Track titles were on the line in all divisions at Mohawk International Raceway Friday night plus the final points in the Frenchie's "Chevy Runs Deep" 358 Modified Series and the Frenchie's Ford "Go Further" Sportsman Series.

The 358 Modifieds were set for 50 laps in the Frenchie's Chevy Runs Deep 358 Modified Series. 22 cars came to Austin Swamp's green flag with Zach Aubertine taking the lead from the pole as the field scrambled into turn 1. It didn't take long for 2010 track champion Carey Terrance to take the number 1 spot away on lap 2 as Aubertine Brian McDonald, Chris Raabe and Billy Dunn completed the top 5. The yellow flew on lap 4 for Tom Conklin as he spun in turn 4. On the restart Terrance held the lead but some heavy hitters were charging forward early on. Danny Johnson made a rare appearance on this night. The Doctor was able to get the 2nd spot away from Aubertine and quickly close in for the top spot on lap 10. Point leader Billy Dunn was also on the move as he worked his way from 12th to 3rd in the early laps. Dunn would get by Johnson and quickly reel in Terrance. On lap 14 Dunn used a power move down the backstretch to take the top spot and open up a commanding lead. Near the halfway point of the event Dunn had nearly a half-track lead as Terrance, Johnson, Matt Billings and Aubertine battled it out in the top 5. Dunn's car was on rails as with 10 to go he was on pace to lap the entire field until the yellow flew on lap 45 as Chris Raabe and Lance Willix came together in turn 2. On the final restart Dunn would have no problem holding the rest of the field at bay as he notched his 7th win of the season, the Frenchie's Series title and his 2nd straight track title. Terrance settled for 2nd, Matt Billings 3rd, Mario Clair battled from a lap down to finish 4th and Zach Aubertine rounded out the top 5.

In the Frenchie's Ford Go Further Sportsman Series event Mike Maresca drew the pole and was looking for back-to-back wins. Maresca set a torrid pace in the early going of the 35 lap contest with Ricky Thompson, Brad Winters, Dylan Evoy and Corey Wheeler rounding out the top 5 early on. The first yellow flew on lap 6 for Wyatt Mullin and Jasmine David as they got hooked together down the front stretch. On the restart remained atop the leader board as Dylan Evoy, Louie Jackson Jr., Brent Kelsey and Corey Wheeler continued to complete the top 5. Maresca was making it look very easy at the head of the field as he led by a full straightaway by the halfway point as the field entered lapped traffic. Evoy started to reel in the leader on lap 24 as Maresca continued to run away and hide in the lapped traffic with Jackson, Kelsey and Wheeler still completing the top 5. The yellow would fly for Jasmine David who lost a front end on her car ending her night. On the restart Evoy made every attempt to get by Maresca but it wasn't enough as Mike Maresca held on for his 2nd win in a row and first in the series. Evoy came home 2nd, good enough to take his 3rd straight series crown. Louie Jackson Jr., Brent Kelsey and Corey Wheeler finished 5th taking home his first Sportsman track championship.

The Pro Stock division was set for their 20 lap battle as Stephane Lebrun and Roch Aubin came into the night separated by only 7 points. Off the start it was Marc Lalonde getting the lead into turn 1 with PJ Peters, Stephane Lebrun, Jocelyn Roy and Allen Peters rounding out the top 5. The yellow flew on lap 2 for William Chubb who came to a stop in turn 2. On the restart PJ Peters was able to take away the top spot bringing Jocelyn Roy to 2nd. Lalonde, Lebrun and Allen Peters rounded out the top 5. Jocelyn Roy wasn't worried about points as he worked his way to 2nd just past the halfway point of the event and ran down the leader PJ Peters. On lap 14 Peters slipped wide in turn 2 and that was all Roy needed as he took the lead and would not look back leading the final 6 laps scoring his first Pro Stock win at Mohawk. Stephane Lebrun came home 2nd locking up his 2nd career track title at MIR. Allen Peters, PJ Peters and Roch Aubin rounded out the top 5 at the finish.

In Bandit action Dudes Thompson took the lead at the drop of the green flag over Justin Desrosiers and Randy Whiting. On lap 4 Thompson's car would slow in turn 4 bringing out the caution flag. On the restart Jean Marc Larose charged from his 5th starting spot to grab the lead but Randy Whiting was also not going to back down. These 2 drivers have done the majority of the winning in 2013 and continued their battle as Whiting took the lead with 5 laps to go. Despite a last lap charge Whiting was not to be denied as he scored his 3rd win in the last 4 weeks over Larose who would claim his first Mohawk Bandit title. Justin Desrosiers, Cory Castell and Scott Banker rounded out the top 5.

The Mod Lites were set for 12 laps and Eric Varin used the pole position to his advantage as he took the lead away early on. Varin would hold a steady 3 car length lead on the field as Harley Brown, Joel Hargrave, Scott Waldriff and Cody Fleming completed the top 5. With the race going caution free nobody had a chance to get around Varin as he took his first ever Mohawk feature win in the Mod Lite class. Harley Brown had a great run finishing 2nd, Joel Hargrave came home 3rd clinching the track title. Scott Waldriff and Cody Fleming rounded out the top 5.

Mohawk International Raceway will be off next Friday Night but in two weeks on September 13 and 14 Twin Leaf will present the annual double header weekend featuring the Big Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series, 358 Modified Series, DIRTcar Pro Stocks, DIRTcar Sportsman and the Go Nuclear Late Model Series.

Mohawk International Raceway is in Akwesasne, midway between the Seaway International Bridge to Cornwall and the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino. From Route 37, turn south onto Frogtown Road.

358 Modified

BILLY DUNN, Carey Terrance, Matt Billings, Mario Clair, Zach Aubertine, Danny Johnson, Lance Willix, Brian McDonald, Ryan Arbuthnot, Jordan McCreadie, Jeff Sykes, Joel Doiron, Mike Maresca, Chris Raabe, David Papineau, Travis Stacey, Tom Conklin, George Foley, Matt Woodruff, Tommy Jock Jr., Casey Swamp, Justin Lalancette


MIKE MARESCA, Dylan Evoy, Louie Jackson Jr., Brent Kelsey, Corey Wheeler, Brad Winters, Ryan Stabler, Ricky Thompson, Robert Delormier, Jenna David, Darryl Nutting, Mike Arquiett, Zach Arquiett, Thomas Cook, Adam Rozon, Scott Mere, Neal Provost, Wyatt Mullin, Delbert Legrow Jr., Josh Brockway, Brian Comeau, Andrew Fish, Scott McGill, Jasmine David, Ryan Helm

Pro Stock

JOCELYN ROY, Stephane Lebrun, Allen Peters, PJ Peters, Roch Aubin, Marc Lalonde, Ronnie Tyo, Preston Mossow, William Chubb, Dan Desnoyers, Darryl Mainville, Chris Tremblay

Mod Lite

ERIC VARIN, Harley Brown, Joel Hargrave, Scott Waldrif, Cody Fleming, Mathieu Robinson, Dan Reif, Jim Bogett, Tim Smythe, Brad Reif, Kevin Foster, Nick Mallette, Dave Bell, Jesse Hudson, Tim Reif


RANDY WHITING, Jean Marc Larose, Justin Desrosiers, Cory Castell, Scott Banker, Darryl Mitchell, Owen Oakes, Edward Lemieux, Dudes Thompson