12 teams battle in 'Droppin' the Gloves on Cancer' hockey tournament in Potsdam
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 5:27 pm

Co-Ed Division champions, Akwesasne Wild, dedicated their win in memory of Charlene Cole who passed away recently and to two-time cancer survivor, Andria Cooke.

POTSDAM -- The fourth annual “Droppin’ the Gloves on Cancer” adult hockey tournament was held Oct.12-14 at Cheel Arena with 12 teams battling each other while raising money in support of awareness programs and support initiatives for women in our area that are battling or have battled breast, cervical, uterine, and ovarian cancer.

The only women’s and now co-ed hockey tournament in the North Country has raised nearly $33,000 over its four year history through sponsorships, team fees, raffles, survivor rides, and “Pink Seats.” All tournament proceeds benefit women’s cancer awareness and support at Massena Memorial and Canton-Potsdam Hospital.

Teams competed in two women’s divisions this year. The “C” division included Brasher Beavers, Wheatfield Blades (Buffalo), Orange Crush (Ottawa) and Green Mountain Thunder (Burlington) with the Orange Crush taking home the trophy with only four seconds left in the game to break a 1-1 tie with the Wheatfield Blades. The “B” division included the Pink Panthers (Massena), Wheatfield Blades (Buffalo), Syracuse Warriors, and the Miz Conducts (Alexandria Bay) with the Syracuse Warriors raising the cup after a 5-0 win over the Pink Panthers.

In the newly formed co-ed division, Massena Savings and Loan/United Steelworkers (Massena), Team Rose (Brasher Falls), Akwesasne Wild, and Team St. Hilaire (Brasher Falls) navigated well to see the Akwesasne Wild take home the cup after a 7-3 victory over Massena Savings and Loan/United Steelworkers in the final.

The tournament sponsors include: event host, Cheel Arena and its outstanding staff, SUNY Potsdam women hockey and lacrosse teams, NorthCountryNow.com, St. Lawrence Gas, Helena General Store, and The Bagelry. Tournament organizers would like to thank Scott Rogers and the referees that donated time to cover all 21 games.