County AAUW branch accepting scholarship applications
Friday, April 27, 2012 - 9:08 am

The St. Lawrence County Branch of AAUW is accepting applications for the 2012 AAUW Named Scholarship.

This scholarship will be awarded to a female SUNY Canton student who is a permanent resident of St. Lawrence County continuing her higher education by transitioning from a local two-year college program to an accredited four-year program.

The scholarship is a one-time award. Applicants must have a GPA of at least 2.5 to apply. Preference will be given to non-traditional aged women who show leadership and community service potential and are pursuing their degree in one of the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) fields.

Application forms are available on the AAUW-St. Lawrence County website ( and from Mary Bucher, Southworth Library ([email protected]) at SUNY Canton.

Applicants should submit the completed application form, a faculty letter of support and a 500-700 word letter reflecting on their educational goals, career ambitions and a community service history. Completed application packets are due by Tues., May 8, 2012. They must be submitted to Mary Bucher at Southworth Library.

The scholarship recipient will be asked to participate in branch public relations to highlight AAUW’s efforts locally to promote education and equity for women and girls. A student membership in AAUW is part of the award. The scholarship recipient will have unrestrictive use of the money once proof of registration in a four-year degree program is provided.

The 2012 scholarship is named in honor of long-time branch member and SUNY Canton Professor Emerita Faye W. White of Ogdensburg. Mrs. White is an alumnus of SUNY Potsdam, graduating with a BA degree in Secondary Mathematics in January 1968, a Master’s degree in Education in Secondary Mathematics in 1971 and a Master’s degree in Education in Instructional Technology and Media Management in 1993. She joined the SUNY Canton faculty as a Math Instructor in 1986, after teaching at Davisville Junior High and Morristown Central School.

Professor White received the SUNY Canton Distinguished Faculty Award in 2001 and was awarded emeritus status in 2001 after teaching in the Math Department for fifteen years. Faye also received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Heuvelton Central School in 2001.

She has been an active member of the St. Lawrence County Branch of AAUW for 20 years and was instrumental in the organization of the Professional Clothing Fair which is held annually in the spring at SUNY Canton. She coordinates the AAUW “Open Windows for Girls” program. She also tutors students, serves as a Eucharistic Minister at Notre Dame Church, and is on the board of the Claxton - Hepburn Medical Center in Ogdensburg.

Membership in the St. Lawrence County Branch is open to anyone who supports the mission of AAUW. AAUW advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, and research. AAUW’s commitment to educational equity is reflected in its public policy advocacy, community programs, leadership development, conventions and conferences, national partnerships, and international connections.

For more information about AAUW locally, contact President Lisa Wilson at 353-2513 or e-mail [email protected] or Public Policy Chair Kathleen Stein at 386-3812 or [email protected]. AAUW, with its nationwide network of more than 100,000 members, more than 1,000 branches conducting programs in communities across the country, and 500 college and university partners, has been a leading advocate for equity and education for women and girls since 1881.