Canton Zonta club names 2017 scholarship winners
Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 8:34 am

Pictured are Abbie LaShomb, winner of the Jean M. Coons Scholarship, Michael Collins, winner of one of the club’s SUNY Canton Endowment Fund Scholarships, Calli Thomas, winner of the club’s Millie Post, May LaBrake, and Katherine Schwatzkopf Scholarship,

CANTON-- The Canton Area Zonta Club recently announce the winners of the club’s 2017 scholarships.

The Jean M. Coons Scholarship is awarded every spring to a high school junior or senior who has an outstanding record of community service. Abbie LaShomb, a June graduate of Massena Central School, is the winner of this year’s $600.00 scholarship.

Michael Collins and Brittany Bailey, both single parents who are students at SUNY Canton, each received the 2017 Canton College Endowment Fund Scholarship in the amount of $1100.00, given in memory of Margaret (Peg) Sibley.

The winner of this year’s $600 Millie Post, Mae LaBrake and Katherine Schwarzkopf Scholarship, awarded in memory of three deceased Zonta members, was presented to Calli Thomas, a graduate of Colton Pierrepont Central School, who demonstrated strong leadership skills and dedication to service throughout her high school career.

Marlaina Bush, a June graduate of Madrid Waddington Central School, is the winner of this year’s $600.00 Gwen Putnam Scholarship, presented to a graduating senior with a distinguished academic record. The scholarship is given in memory of a deceased Zonta Club member.

The Zonta Club of Canton congratulates its 2017 winners and urges area young women and men to consider applying in the spring of 2018 for the 2018 round of awards. Contact high school guidance counselors for more information or call Zonta Scholarship Chair Lyn Swafford at 315-262-2807.