Billy Dunn chases down Mario Clair for 6th win of the season at Mohawk International Raceway on Friday night
Saturday, August 17, 2013 - 10:58 am

By Tim Baltz

AKWESASNE - After a one week lay off the top stars at Mohawk International Raceway were back in fine form with Cedar View Golf Course on hand. In 358 Modified action Billy Dunn has been the driver to beat as he came into the night with a 14 point lead on 2nd place Chris Raabe. Dunn would have a long way to go as he started deep in the pack in the 25 lap affair. Travis Stacey was able to get the lead early on from the pole over Jordan McCreadie, Mario Clair, Brian McDonald and Carey Terrance.

Stacey would build up a full straightaway lead by lap 5 as Mario Clair cleared McCreadie for the 2nd spot, McDonald and Zach Aubertine completed the top 5. Clair was able to run down the leader by lap 10 and used the low side of the speedway down the back stretch to take over the top spot and open up a commanding lead. With Billy Dunn starting deep in the pack it looked like his chances for victory were all but over as he worked his way into the top 5 just past the halfway point. Clair entered into lapped traffic and began lapping cars at will as Dunn battled former track champion Brian McDonald for 2nd until Dunn was able to take the spot away with 9 to go.

Clair started to enter heavier traffic which played right into the hands of Dunn as he was able to reel in the leader and make a great battle for the win. With 3 laps remaining Dunn caught Clair in turn 2 and would use the bottom side of the track to take over the lead for good. Even a lap 24 caution for Carey Terrance, who spun, would not slow his charge as Dunn pulled away from Super Mario on the final restart for his 6th win of the year over Clair, Zach Aubertine, Brian McDonald and Lance Willix.

In the Sportsman division rookie Mike Maresca used the pole position to take away the lead early on. Maresca, in his first full season on dirt, has learned a lot this year and showed everyone as he rocketed to a full straightaway lead by lap 5 with Robert Delormier and Dylan Evoy rounding out the top 3 early on. Maresca was on

cruise control and seemed like he was well on his way to career win #1. Robert Delormier had other ideas as he ran down Maresca in traffic and was able to take the lead away on lap 10. Corey Wheeler and Dylan Evoy were also on the move. Evoy and Wheeler both moved into the 2nd and 3rd spots by lap 12 until the caution flew for Neal Provost who suffered a hard hit in turn 2. On the restart Wheeler went right to work as he took the 2nd spot from Evoy and quickly ran down Delormier for the top spot. The final caution flew on lap 18 settingup a 2 lap shootout to the finish. On the final restart Delormier got out in front of Wheeler and seemed destined to go to victory lane. However in turn 2 Delormier left the bottom open as the top 2 raced side by side into turns 3 and 4. Coming off the final turn the 2 drivers exchanged paint several times as Corey Wheeler was able to edge Delormier by 0.011 seconds for his first win of the year over Delormier. Darryl Nutting, Dylan Evoy and Mike Maresca rounded out the top 5.

The Mod Lites were ready for battle as 2011 track champion was still in pursuit of his first win of the year. Robinson made it clear to everyone that he meant business as he took the lead early on. Current points leader Joel Hargrave was hot on his heels throughout the 12 lap affair. Hargrave made several attempts to get the lead but Robinson remained at the top of the board. Only 1 yellow slowed the field as Dan Reif came to a halt in turn 4. On the restart Hargrave gave it his all but it wasn't enough as Mathieu Robinson finally got to the winners circle for the first time in 2013. Hargrave came home 2nd, Scott Waldrif, Brad Reif and Nick Malette rounded out the top 5.

The Bandit division saw Justin Desrosiers take the lead from the drop of the green and dominate the first part of the 10 lap affair. Behind him points leader Jean Marc Larose and newest Bandit winner Randy Whiting were also charging through the field breaking into the top 5 just past the halfway point. Desrosiers great run came to an end on lap 9 as he broke while leading bringing out the yellow. This left Jean Marc Larose in front on the final restart. Coming to the white flag Larose slowed handing the lead to Cory Castell. Castell raced hard on the final lap as Larose got his car going again and reeled in the leader. The top 2 raced side by side to the checkered flag with Castell winning by less than inches over Larose. Darryl Mitchell, Scott Banker and Peter Cename rounded out the top 5.

Next week the 358 Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stock and Bandit will be on the card for a full program, the Mod Lites will have the night off. The green flag drops at 7:30 pm.

Mohawk International Raceway is located in Akwesasne, NY, midway between the Seaway International Bridge to Cornwall, ONT and the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino. From Route 37, turn south onto Frogtown Road. Racing is held on Friday nights at 7:30 PM from May through September, featuring the Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, Mod Lites as well as the Bandit division. Visit us on the web at The MIR office is located at the track, and the phone number is 518-358-9017. The track is owned and operated by Mohawk International Raceway, LLC.

358 Modified

BILLY DUNN, Mario Clair, Zach Aubertine, Brian McDonald, Lance Willix, Jordan

McCreadie, Pierre Dagenais, Travis Stacey, Tom Conklin, Carey Terrance, Joel Doiron, Chris Raabe, Lee Miller, Ryan Arbuthnot, Louie Jackson Jr., Justin Lalancette, David Papineau, Matt Woodruff, Jeff Sykes, Travis Back


COREY WHEELER, Robert Delormier, Darryl Nutting, Dylan Evoy, Mike Maresca, Brent Kelsey, Scott Mere, Jenna David, Nolan Swamp, Louie Jackson Jr., Wyatt Mullin, Brad Winters, Zach Arquiett, Terry Ladouceur, Mike Arquiett, Thomas Cook, Delbert Legrow Jr., Adam Rozon, Ryan Helm, Josh Brockway, Jasmine David, Ricky Thompson, Neal Provost

Mod Lite

MATHIEU ROBINSON, Joel Hargrave, Scott Waldrif, Brad Reif, Nick Mallette, Jesse Hudson, Dan Reif, Harley Brown, Tim Reif


CORY CASTELL, Jean Marc Larose, Darryl Mitchell, Scott Banker, Peter Cename, Randy Whiting, Travis Thompson, Justin Desrosiers, Owen Oakes, Dudes Thompson