12-county business plan to be unveiled at Clarkson presentation Friday
Wednesday, November 6, 2013 - 2:55 pm

POTSDAM -- A Syracuse-based business development organization has chosen Clarkson University as the place it will unveil its latest business plan for a 12-county region that includes St. Lawrence County.

On Friday, CenterState Corporation for Economic Opportunity (CenterState CEO) will present their Metropolitan Business Plan, the result of more than two years of research, planning and collaboration. It is intended to serve as a plan building on regional efforts over the past 15 years, "transforming our unique strengths into globally competitive assets," according to CenterState CEO's announcement of the Friday presentation.

The plan is backed by research from the Metropolitan Policy Program of the Brookings Institution, a well known Washington-based non-profit public policy organization.

The presentation, from 12:30 to 2 p.m. in the Petersen Board Room in Bertrand H. Snell Hall on CU’s Hill Campus, is open to the public.

It will be an opportunity to learn about the market analysis, research and recommendations for economic growth in our region and the corridor south.

Presenters and panel discussion participants will include the two co-chairs of the North Country Regional Economic Development Council, Clarkson’s President Collins and, of the North Country Chamber of Commerce President Garry Douglas; Central New York Regional Economic Development Council Co-Chair Rob Simpson, President and CEO of CenterState CEO; representatives of the Brookings Institution’s Policy Program; and local entrepreneurs and business people.

CenterState CEO defines itself as a regional business leadership organization, chamber of commerce, and economic development strategist, based in Syracuse. Among its directors is Clarkson University President Anthony Collins.

The current organization represents a merger four years ago of two 75-year-old organizations, the Greater Syracuse Chamber of Commerce and the Metropolitan Development Association of Syracuse and Central New York, as they decided on a joint “super-regional” emphasis.

The 12 counties they cover are St. Lawrence, Lewis, Jefferson, Herkimer, Cayuga, Cortland, Oneida, Madison, Tompkins, Seneca, Oswego and Ononadaga.

The organization says it has 2,000 members of all sizes in a twelve-county area, with aims of advocating smart business, facilitating regional growth, and promoting community prosperity.