Terrance wins Independence 35 for fifth Mohawk Raceway Frenchie's 358 modified win
Saturday, July 3, 2010 - 8:39 am

AKWESASNE -- Carey Terrance made a smooth inside pass to get by Perry Francis and take the lead on lap 28 and power on for the win in the Frenchie's Chevrolet Independence 35 at Mohawk International Raceway Friday night.

The win was Terrance's fifth Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modified win of the season.

Also in the victory lane on Frenchie's Chevrolet night were Chris Raabe with his seventh DIRTcar Sportsman win, Ricky Thompson with his third DIRTcar Pro Stock win, and Joey Foster captured his eighth Bandit feature win.

Perry Francis took the lead at the drop of the green flag for the Frenchie's Chevrolet Independence 35, while Roy Delormier moved into the second spot on lap two. Francis and Delormier would maintain those two spots for most of the event, while behind them, drivers fought to move towards the front of the pack.

Carey Terrance hustled past Roy Tarbell to take fourth spot on lap six and then two laps later he challenged Clayton Benedict and moved into third spot.

Terrance spent the next twenty laps trying to run down the leaders, who had broken away from the rest of the pack, while behind him, Pat O'Brien moved up through traffic to take fourth spot on lap fifteen. Terrance finally caught second-place Delormier on lap 22, but Delormier fought off Terrance.

Three laps later, Terrance saw an opening down low in lapped traffic and powered under Delormier to take the runner-up position. By this time, Francis was two car lengths ahead and Terrance had to reel in Francis while still conserving his tires for the final sprint to the finish.

It took Terrance six laps to run down Francis and Terrance dove low coming out of turn four to take the top spot as they crossed the finish line to put lap 28 in the record books.

Terrance pulled ahead to score his fifth feature win of the season in a race that went from the initial green flag to the checkered flag with no cautions. Francis held on to finish second despite having his right rear tire blow on the final lap, while Pat O'Brien finished third, Roy Delormier scored fourth and Todd Stone posted a fifth place finish after several tough battles with O'Brien and Delormier.

The Independence 35 win puts Terrance clearly in command of the special Frenchie's Chevrolet American Revolution mini-series, as he also won the Memorial Cup 35, the first race in the series.

The third and final race in the Frenchie's Chevrolet American Revolution series will be the Labor Day Shootout 50 on Friday, September 3rd.

The Labor Day Shootout will also be the final night of regular points for the 2010 season and all four track champions will be crowned on that evening.

Chris Raabe took the top spot from Travis Back on lap five of the Sportsman feature, but Dylan Evoy made it interesting as he moved into second half a lap later and the two dueled for the win right down to the final lap.

Raabe was able to hold onto the lead to capture his seventh feature win, with Evoy right on his back bumper at the finish. Brad Winters scored third, Sheldon Hoogwerf finished fourth, and Back posted a fine fifth place finish.

The Pro Stock feature was the most competitive of the night, with the top seven cars running in a tight pack that saw two, three and sometimes four wide racing.

Billy Woodward Jr. took the lead on a lap two restart and held onto the top spot until Ricky Thompson fought past second-place running Rod Tarbell on lap ten and then two laps later charged low to get past Woodward on a lap twelve restart to take the lead.

Once in front, Thompson held the lead and went on to capture his third Pro Stock win. Woodward got shuffled backwards in a late race scramble that saw him settle into sixth spot.

Roch Aubin and Joey Ladouceur traded second spot several times in the final laps, with Aubin getting the runner-up post at the finish. Ladouceur was forced to settle for third, with Tarbell posting another strong run to finish fourth.

Dion Oakes made a charge late in the race to join the leaders and complete the top five. Joey Foster powered to the lead on a lap two restart and went on to capture his eighth Bandit feature, although Nolan Swamp did his best to run Foster down and was only a couple of car lengths back at the finish.

Peter Cename moved up to third spot with just four laps to go to score another strong finish while Gary Sharlow and Bennett White continued their string of top-five finishes to place fourth and fifth respectively.

The night's racing events were conducted with a heavy heart as the Seaway Valley racing community was stunned to learn of the passing of young 358 Modified star Mitch Jock during the week.

Jock had been struck by an illness over the winter months but was still deeply involved in racing, including competing in several events early in the Spring.

Jock was well respected by competitors and very popular with the fans. He was regarded as one of the sport's rising stars and captured his first track championship at the age of 14 back in the late 1990s in the Bandit division.

After several outstanding seasons in the tough Pro Stock division, Jock moved up to the 358 Modifieds in 2008 and was MIR's 2008 358 Modified Rookie of the Year, finishing second in points and scoring a memorable win at Autodrome Edelweiss in a prestigious Syracuse Qualifier extra distance event.

Jock finished fifth in MIR's 2009 point standings. Before racing began on Friday, Jock's Warrior Racing #14 Modified was driven around the track by his sister-in-law, Jenna David, and all of the drivers in attendance assembled in turn four in silent salute to Mitch's memory.

Mitch's #14 Modified was also the pace vehicle for the 358 Modified feature event.

Racing resumes at Mohawk International Raceway on Friday, July 10, as Burke's Excavation and Buck Supply present a full show of racing for the Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, the DIRTcar Sportsman, DIRTcar Pro Stocks and the Bandits.

The first heat race gets underway at 7:45 PM.

FRIDAY, JULY 3, 2010:

FRENCHIE'S CHEVROLET NIGHT FRENCHIE'S CHEVROLET DIRTcar 358 MODIFIEDS: INDEPENDENCE 35, ROUND TWO OF AMERICAN REVOLUTION SERIES (35 laps): Carey Terrance, Perry Francis, Pat O'Brien, Roy Delormier, Todd Stone, John Lazore, Clayton Benedict, Gage Morin, Todd Stewart, Roy Tarbell, Dave Heaslip, Gardner Stone, Tom Jock Jr., Billy Cook, Preston Forbes, Ryan Helm, Brian Copp, Del LeGrow, Casey Swamp.

DIRTcar SPORTSMAN (20 laps): Chris Raabe, Dylan Evoy, Brad Winters, Sheldon Hoogwerf, Travis Back, Kristian Smoke, Brent Kelsey, Tom Benedict, Kenny Polite, Shawn Burke, Tabatha Murphy, Todd Ferguson, Jenna David, Josh Jock, Steve Barber, Joshua Kane.

DIRTcar PRO STOCKS (20 laps): Ricky Thompson, Roch Aubin, Joey Ladouceur, Rod Tarbell, Dion Oakes, Billy Woodward Jr., Stephane LeBrun, Scott Kocher, Dave Bissonnette, William Adams, Allen Peters, Claudia Tarbell, Thunder Anderson, Harvey Arquette Jr., Louie Jackson, Dave Papineau, Mike Pecore, Josh Brockway, Mikey Blais.

DNS: Jody Swamp.

BANDITS (12 laps): Joey Foster, Nolan Swamp, Peter Cename, Gary Sharlow, Bennett White, Cory Castell, Tammy Rogers, Kevin Thompson, Jason Crites, Henry Lamica, Darryl Mitchell, Joseph Barnes, Rick Finch, Scott Mere.

DNS: John Green.

Mohawk International Raceway is located midway between the Seaway International Bridge to Cornwall, Ont. and the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino. From Route 37, turn south onto Frogtown Road.

Racing is held on Friday nights at 7:45 p.m. from May through September, featuring the Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, Sportsman and Pro Stocks, as well as the Bandit division.

The web address is www.MohawkInternationalRaceway.com. The MIR office is 518-358-3225 and on race days, the track number is 518-358-9017.