Season tickets for 2012 Mohawk International Raceway season now on sale
Monday, February 20, 2012 - 2:45 pm

AKWESASNE – Season tickets for the 2012 season of auto racing at Mohawk International Raceway are on sale, as are tickets to the annual awards banquet March 24.

Raceway staff have been busy putting the finishing touches on the schedule for the upcoming year and are selling season passes for 2012 for both the grandstand and pit area.

Grandstand season passes are $250 for adults, and $200 for seniors and students. Season passes for the pit area are $300 if you are a DIRTcar member, or $400 if you are a non-member. Note that children under the age of 12 are not permitted in the pit area.

The Raceway honors their 2011 champions and top finishers at the annual awards banquet March 24 at the Brass Horse in Akwesasne. Tickets are $25.

2011 was a very exciting season at MIR, and they look forward to honoring the best performers of the 2011 season.

Chris Raabe may have been a rookie in the 358 Modified division, but his strong start and consistent season earned him the 2011 championship over Carey Terrance, Jeff Sykes, John Lazore and Todd Stone. Stone captured the championship in the Frenchie’s Chevrolet American Revolution 358 Modified Series.

Dylan Evoy won his first MIR Sportsman championship in 2011 with a dominating season of nine feature wins. Evoy won the championship by an astounding 120 points over second place driver Tom Conklin. Brent Kelsey finished third in points with Sheldon Hoogwerf and Mike Arquiett rounding out the top five. Evoy’s strong season also earned him the Frenchie’s Built Ford Tough Sportsman Series Championship.

Dave Bissonnette had a great season as 2011 Pro Stock champion. Bissonnette won by just 14 points over second place competitor Roch Aubin. Louis Jackson, Jody Swamp and David Papineau rounded out the top five. Joey Ladouceur was the first annual Bailey Motor Company Pro Stock Series Champion.

Owen White won the battle in the Bandit division by just one point over Ernie Cree. Cory Castell, Derek Colbert and John Greene rounded out the top five. White also won the CKON 97.3 FM Bandit Series championship.

The Mod Lite division joined Mohawk International Raceway part way through the 2011 campaign, and it was Mathieu Robinson picking up the championship by just nine points over Matt Meuten. Scott Mere finished third, Dean Pronovost was fourth followed by Lacey Cox.

For more information on banquet tickets or season passes for 2012, contact the speedway office at 518-358-9017 or [email protected]. The office is open from Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Mohawk International Raceway is in Akwesasne, midway between the Seaway International Bridge to Cornwall and the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino. From Route 37, turn south onto Frogtown Road. Racing is held on Friday nights at 7:45 PM from May through September, featuring the Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, Sportsman and Pro Stocks, Mod Lites as well as the Bandit division. Learn more at