Rain postpones Mohawk Raceway 'Battle at Eastern Door 100'
Sunday, August 22, 2010 - 8:33 am

AKWESASNE -- Persistent rain showers forced Mohawk International Raceway and World of Outlaws officials to postpone Saturday's "Battle at Eastern Door 100" for the World of Outlaws Late Model series.

The "Battle at Eastern Door 100" has been rescheduled for Wednesday, Sept. 1, with a 7 p.m. starting time.

When action resumes on Wednesdsay, the program will feature the "last chance" Late Model B-Main, which will transfer the final qualifiers into the 100-lap feature event.

The Battle at Eastern Door 100 will pay $20,000 to win, with a total purse of $120,000.

Qualifying heat races were held on Friday evening, with Bear Lake, PA's Chub Frank ("Chubzilla") setting fast time in time trials and winning his qualifying heat race. Rick Eckert (York, PA) and Darrell Lanigan (Union, KY) won the other heat races.

North Country stars Tim McCreadie (Watertown) and Tim Fuller (Edwards) both qualified for the main event in their respective heat races.

Joining the World of Outlaws Late Models will be the Mr. DIRTcar Pro Stock tour event, with qualifying heat races to determine the field for the 50-lap feature event.

Defending Mr. DIRTcar Pro Stock champion Pete Stefanski is the defending champion of this race.

Also on the card on Wednesday, September 1st will be a full program of racing for the Bandit division.

Grandstand general admission for the event is $35 for adults.

Mohawk International Raceway is located midway between the Seaway International Bridge to Cornwall, Ont. and the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino. From Route 37, turn south onto Frogtown Road.

Racing is held on Friday nights at 7:45 p.m. from May through September, featuring the Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, Sportsman and Pro Stocks, as well as the Bandit division.

The website address is at www.MohawkInternationalRaceway.com. The MIR office is 518-358-3225 and on race days, the track number is 518-358-9017. The track is owned and operated by Mohawk International Raceway, LLC.