Foster assured of Bandit championship at Mohawk Raceway
Friday, September 3, 2010 - 11:49 am

AKWESASNE -- Joey Foster captured his eleventh Bandit feature win of the season at Mohawk International Raceway Wednesday night as part of the "Battle at Eastern Door 100" racing program.

The win assured Foster of the 2010 Bandit track championship going into Friday night's final night of points racing as Frenchie's Chevrolet presents the Labor Day Shoot-out 50 for 358 Modifieds.

All four 2010 track champions will be crowned during Friday, September 3rd.

In other Wednesday night action, defending World of Outlaws Late Model champion Josh Richards got past Tim McCreadie in the closing laps to win the "Battle at Eastern Door 100," the first ever race for the World of Outlaws Late Model series at MIR.

The win was worth $20,000 and Richards was handed his prize in cash by track owners Don Thompson Jr. and John Lazore during victory lane celebrations. P.J. Peters led all 50 laps to capture the win in the caution-filled Mr. DIRTcar Pro Stock championship tour event race, besting Dave Bissonnette and Louie Jackson; four out of the top five spots in the Pro Stock tour race went to MIR regulars.

Darryl Mitchell led the Bandits at the drop of the green flag, but Joey Foster quickly moved from his fifth starting spot to the runner-up position, with Pete Cename, Bennett White and Gary Sharlow close behind. The first caution waved on lap one as John Green lost a tire and spun.

On the restart, Foster darted into the lead, while Cename pulled alongside Mitchell to challenge for the second spot. Cename swung low coming out of turn two to take the lead a lap later, but the caution waved on lap three and Foster regained the top spot.

Cename hounded Foster until the final caution waved on lap eight. Foster retained the point position as the final green flag waved, but Cornwall Speedway Mini-Stock star Dan Desnoyers moved into second, with former Enduro racer Ernie Cree getting by last week's winner Owen White for third on the final lap. White and Cename rounded out the top five.

Friday night, September 3rd is the final night of points racing for the 2010 season as Frenchie's Chevrolet presents the Labor Day Shoot-out. The Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modifieds will have a 50-lap main event, along with a full program of racing for the DIRTcar Sportsman, DIRTcar Pro Stocks and Bandits.

Going into Friday night's program, Carey Terrance (847 points) leads Perry Francis (805 points) by 42 points in the chase for the Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modified championship. The battle for third is quite close as John Lazore (770 points) sits only 11 points ahead of Todd Stewart (759 points); Clayton Benedict goes into Friday night fifth in points with 702.

The Labor Day Shoot-out 50 is also the third and final round of the Frenchie's Chevrolet American Revolution series. The battle for the American Revolution mini-series title and the bonus money is much closer, with all of the top positions still in play.

Carey Terrance leads with a perfect score of 120 points (two wins in two starts), but Todd Stone is just sixteen points behind with 104. John Lazore and Gage Morin are tied for third with 94 points each, while Todd Stewart is fifth with 90 points. Roy Delormier is just two markers behind Stewart with 88 points, Roy Tarbell has 84 points and Perry Francis has 79 points.

Chris Raabe has assured himself of the DIRTcar Sportsman title with 868 points and thirteen feature wins -- he merely needs to start the feature to guarantee himself the championship. Dylan Evoy sits second with 814 points, while third is the closest battle: Brent Kelsey has 710 points, with Brad Winters just four points back at 706. Travis Back, currently fifth, is still within striking distance of third with 692 points.

The Pro Stock division has been one of the most competitive of the 2010 season but Ricky Thompson merely needs to have a modest run to capture the 2010 championship. He goes into Friday night with four wins and 756 points, while veterans Dave Bissonnette and Louie Jackson are in a fierce battle for second: Bissonnette has 691 points, only five points ahead of Jackson's 686 points. Dion Oakes has 637 points, while Stephane LeBrun has 592 points in fifth spot.

After Friday night's racing program, there will be a week off and then Mohawk International Raceway roars back into action with the season-ending triple-header championship weekend on Friday, September 17th through Sunday, September 19th.

Friday night, September 17th, A&M Beverage presents the Mr. DIRTcar 358 Modified championship tour, with a 75-lap main event highlighting the program. Invaders from throughout the DIRTcar circuit will jam the pit area, but the MIR stars should be tough to beat: Defending race winner Pat O'Brien has been with MIR on a weekly basis since mid-season, while the Twin Leaf Gas and Tobacco team of Carey Terrance and Dale Planck (the defending Mr.DIRTcar 358 Champion) have nine wins between them at MIR this season.

Also on the card on Sept. 17th will be the Mr. DIRTcar Sportsman tour 50-lap championship event (being made-up after a rainout on June 23rd), along with a complete racing program of heat races and a regular 20-lap feature for the Sportsman cars. The Bandit division will also have an open competition event.

Saturday night, September 18th, SUNY Canton presents the second visit of the SuperDIRT Big Block Modified tour, with a 100-lap feature event. Jimmie Phelps won the initial SuperDIRT Big Block "Jreck Subs 100" on June 23rd.

Billy Decker was second, Matt Shepherd was third, while Danny Johnson and Steve Paine rounded out the top five for the June event. A stellar field of Big Block Modifieds is expected for the SUNY Canton SuperDIRT 100. Joining the Big Block Modifieds will be the CRSA 305 Sprint cars. This will be the first ever appearance for the winged, alcohol burning 305 Sprints and a strong contingent of Sprints is expected for the race, with the CRSA club averaging over two dozen Sprints per event this year.

The 2010 season will conclude on Sunday, September 19th, with a noon start for the annual IronMan Slick Track Enduro 100. This event, always a fan favorite, is a challenge of patience and stamina. With fields of over 50 cars taking part, the track is soon filled with spinning, sliding race cars as they battle for 100 laps in a grueling grind on a water-slicked track surface. The defending race winner is Bandit star Nolan Swamp.


BANDITS (12 laps): Joey Foster, Dan Desnoyers, Ernie Cree, Owen White, Peter Cename, Derek Colbert, Gary Sharlow, Scott Mere, Trevor Jones, Tammy Rogers, Trent Benedict, Joseph Barnes, Jason Crites, Darryl Mitchell, Brad Fish, Henry Lamica, Bennett White, John Green, Thunder Anderson Jr. DNS: Andrew Fish.

Mohawk International Raceway is located midway between the Seaway International Bridge to Cornwall, ONT and the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino. From Route 37, turn south onto Frogtown Road.

Racing is held on Friday nights at 7:45 PM from May through September, featuring the Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, Sportsman and Pro Stocks, as well as the Bandit division. Visit us on the web at The MIR office is phone number 518-358-3225 and on race days, the track number is 518-358-9017. The track is owned and operated by Mohawk International Raceway, LLC.