Flanagan named Saint Captain, 2012 MVP
Tuesday, April 3, 2012 - 6:52 am

Kyle Flanagan was named the winner of the Dr. Stuart A. Winning Most Valuable Player Award and was announced as captain for the 2012-13 St. Lawrence University men's hockey team as the Friends of St. Lawrence Hockey conducted its annual recognition banquet at the Club on Sunday evening.

Flanagan, who led the Saints in scoring with 14 goals and 23 assists for 37 points and was named to the third team ECAC All Star team was a co-winner of the Most Valuable Player award a year ago. He will also wear the "C" of a captain for the second straight year with defensemen George Hughes and Jordan Dewey, both of whom will be seniors next year, serving as assistant captains.

Other award winners at Sunday's affair included freshman forward Chris Martin, who was named the Mike Pelletier-Richie Stewart Rookie of the Year; sophomore defenseman Pat Raley, who was the Brian McFarlane Award winner for academic and hockey achievement; George Hughes was the Pete McGeough Award winner as the outstanding Saint defenseman for the second straight year and his brother Gunnar was named the Paul J. Flanagan Most Improved Player Award winner.

Captain Jake Drewiske, who was unable to attend the banquet as he is playing for Gwinnett in the East Coast Hockey League, was named the winner of the Bernie McKinnon Coaches Award and the Brian P. "Jinx" Doyle Memorial Trophy.