Clarkson men's soccer team defeats Cortland State 2-1
Sunday, August 31, 2014 - 8:04 am

POTSDAM -- With a late goal, the Clarkson University Men's Soccer team defeated Cortland State 2-1 in the final round of the North Country Classic at Hantz Turf Field.

Cortland State would open the game on the front foot, as they sent a barrage of shots at the Clarkson net. However, Clarkson would be the ones to open the scoring at 21:29. Sophomore Kyle Fisk (Pennelville, N.Y.) collected the ball on the left side and crossed it into the box.

Freshman Kevin Calnan (Winchester, M.A.) ducked inside the outstretched Cortland keeper and headed the ball into the empty net for his first career collegiate goal.

Cortland would continue to pepper the Clarkson net with shots until the 54th minute. Clarkson won possession and sophomore Eric Herberger (East Aurora,N.Y.) found space behind the Cortland defense. He was one on one with the keeper when he was brought down from behind by Darren McComack.

The referee initially awarded McCormack a yellow card for his actions, but after conferring with his assistant, the referee decided the foul was worthy of a red card and McCormack was sent off. This forced Cortland to play a man down for nearly forty minutes.

Even with a man disadvantage, Cortland continued to attack and their breakthrough finally came in the 78th minute. Nick Tata played a low cross across the Clarkson goal mouth and Matt Williams was there to finish it and tie the game at one.

There was still plenty of time left and Clarkson began to gain more and more of the ball. With less than three minutes to go, junior Marco Parisi (Guilford, N.Y.) was fouled about 35 yards away from the Cortland goal. His ensuing free kick was flicked ever so slightly by the head of senior Alex Lewis (Hollywood, F.L.), allowing it to skip into the goal for the winning score.

Clarkson improves its record to 2-0 which is the best start for the team since 2001 and also earned second place in the North Country Classic. Cortland falls to 0-2 after the loss.

North Country Classic All-Tournament Team

Mark Provost – St. Lawrence

Rob Brandell – St. Lawrence

Harry Copeland – St. Lawrence

Seyefe Brouk – St. Lawrence

Morgan Smith – St. Lawrence

Max Leetz – Clarkson

Trevor Blackwell – Clarkson

Michael King - Clarkson

Tucker Wilcox – Clarkson

Chris McBride – Cortland

Sean Streb – Cortland

Darren McCormack – Cortland