Treasurer’s office staff backing Felt in primary
Wednesday, September 1, 2010 - 12:44 pm

To the Editor:

This letter is in support of Republican Kevin Felt, who currently is the St. Lawrence County deputy treasurer and is running for county treasurer.

He has our support because he is the best qualified person for the job. He holds a master of business administration degree from Clarkson University, has worked as a finance officer for private companies for 11 years and for the past two years has worked in the treasurer’s office.

As employees in the treasurer’s office, we can attest to Kevin’s abilities and management skills. He is a capable and considerate supervisor, works well with other county departments and the legislature, and is always accessible to taxpayers who wish to see him. During the past several weeks, we have voluntarily joined Kevin at various field days and parades and are very pleased by the encouragement and support Kevin has received at these events.

The treasurer’s office staff is composed of two appointed deputy treasurers and ten employees hired from Civil Service lists. We are a politically diverse group. Some of us are Republican, some Democrat, and some Independent. Most of us have worked in the treasurer’s office for a number of years and know first-hand how important the treasurer’s job is: the daily interaction with citizens regarding their taxes, with towns villages and schools, with other county departments and the legislature, and with state agencies regarding the county’s reimbursement claims.

We know the treasurer’s office is well managed and a dependable source of assistance and information in St. Lawrence County.

We have come together in support of Kevin Felt because we know he has the educational and professional background to be a very effective county treasurer. We hope you will join us in electing Kevin Felt next St. Lawrence County treasurer.

Janette Anderson, Ogdensburg; Debbie Baker, Norfolk; Sandra Bartlett, Canton; Tammy Bessette, Canton; Pam Charleson, Stockholm; Sandra Downing, Heuvelton; Stephanie Hall, Massena; Sue Smith, Potsdam; Vicki Stiles, DeKalb; Pat Streit, Canton; Tim Tebo, Russell.