SUNY Potsdam honors faculty and staff with Chancellor's Awards
Thursday, June 15, 2017 - 8:49 am

POTSDAM -- SUNY Potsdam recently honored dedicated faculty and staff members with Chancellor's Awards.

Heather O'Hara was recognized for her exceptional service and dedication to SUNY Potsdam. As the administrative assistant for the Department of Human Resources, one of O'Hara's greatest assets is her deep understanding of HR policies and procedures. O'Hara engages with countless individuals every day and is constantly willing to go above and beyond for anyone in need of assistance.

Dr. Lonel Woods was recognized for his exceptional service as a vital member of The Crane School of Music and an invaluable asset to the campus. In 2016, Woods was presented with the President's Award for Excellence in College Service for his strong involvement throughout the campus.

Romeyn Prescott was recognized for his untiring service and dedication as the director of academic computing in Computing and Technology Services. As a tribute to his exceptional achievements, Prescott was presented with the President's Award for Excellence in College Service in 2014.

Dr. Glenn Johnson was recognized for his creative commitment and collaborative work as a professor of biology. Johnson was presented with the President's Award for Excellence in Scholarship and/or Creative Activities in 2008 for his outstanding research of threatened and endangered vertebrates in the Northeastern United States.

Dr. Mark Hartman was recognized for his outstanding teaching and dedication to students, as a professor of trombone at The Crane School of MusicIn addition to his successful teaching career, Hartman remains an active performer. He plays principal trombone in the Orchestra of Northern New York and the Northern Symphonic Winds and has been a member of the Potsdam Brass Quintet since 1985. Hartman also performs regular solo recitals. In 2015, Hartman received the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching.