St. Lawrence University names 17 local residents as North Country Scholars for class of 2018
Wednesday, February 5, 2014 - 6:54 am

CANTON -- St. Lawrence University has named 75 high school seniors from across New York State and Canada, including 17 from St. Lawrence County, as Augsbury/North Country Scholars for the Class of 2018.

Local students included: Abby E. Alford, St. Lawrence Central; Maeve C. Bowdish, Lisbon; Michael J. Burns, Parishville-Hopkinton; Shane A. Fuentes, St. Lawrence Central; Abigail E. Gruneisen, Potsdam; Brianna M. Hayes, Parishville-Hopkinton; Cadence L. Hunkins, Norwood-Norfolk; and Hannah E. Kingsley, Gouverneur.

Other students included: Jessica L. LaMay, Madrid-Waddington, Benjamin L. Miller, Potsdam: Emily T. Murphy, Madrid-Waddington; Lindsay I. Proulx, Hugh C. Williams; Aidan T.M. Scagel, Heuvelton; Jacqueline A. Sovie, Lisbon; Madelyn F. St. Pierre, Heuvelton; Marthlyn K. Sweet, Gouverneur; and Megan M. Wells, Massena.

Nominees have until May 1 to make their enrollment choice, unless the application was submitted early decision.

Students selected by St. Lawrence as Augsbury/North Country Scholars are awarded a merit scholarship of $27,000 per year for four years, should they decide to enroll at the University. Nominees who are not selected for the scholarship receive an award of $10,000 per year for four years if they choose to attend St. Lawrence.

Initiated in 1974, the program recognizes academic and co-curricular leadership among designated students at 89 New York and 17 Canadian high schools in Ontario and Quebec. Guidance counselors from participating high schools have the opportunity to nominate up to two candidates for the award.

Nominees from New York schools must be a U.S. citizen or U.S. permanent resident and must have a cumulative grade point average of 90 or higher at the end of six semesters.