St. Lawrence Leadership Institute recognizes accomplishments of 14 participants at graduation
Wednesday, June 8, 2011 - 9:53 am

CANTON - The St. Lawrence Leadership Institute held its graduation dinner at SUNY Potsdam on June 2, recognizing the accomplishments of 14 participants.

The Institute covers topics such as technology in the county, government, and agriculture, as well as public speaking, communications, networking and consensus building.

The 2011 graduates are: Patty Burnham,Emily DeRouchie-McMahon, Jennifer Freego, Martin Hassett, John Dragun, Mary Jane Jock, Elizabeth Yenchko, Joshua Fiske, Megan Foster, Rena Inez, Rebecca Kingsley, Loren Norwak, David Schryver and William Wolf.

These 14 county residents will join the more than 200 alumni of the Institute, which has been in existence for 18 years.

Many people in business and leadership positions have experienced the St. Lawrence Leadership Institute, including former Massena mayor Ken McDonald, current Ogdensburg Mayor Bill Nelson, County Planner Keith Zimmerman, Commissioner of Social Services Chris Rediehs and County Administrator Karen St. Hilaire.

The graduation program began with a welcome to the SUNY Potsdam Campus by Provost and VP of Academic Affairs Dr. Margaret Madden, and ended with a welcome to the Alumni body by County Administrator Karen St. Hilaire.

The mission of SLLI is to foster the development and engagement of emerging and existing leaders for the advancement of St. Lawrence County and its communities.

Anyone interested in learning more about SLLI or how to be a part of the next class which will begin in September, call Suzanne Casaday, SLLI program coordinator at 386-2107 or visit