Clarkson Unversity writer wins 18th consecutive APEX Award
Thursday, August 22, 2013 - 9:10 am

POTSDAM -- Dana M. Barry, senior technical writer and editor at Clarkson University’s Center for Advanced Materials Processing (CAMP), has won her 18th consecutive APEX Award for Publication Excellence, as well as other honors.

The APEX 2013 Award, presented by Communications Concepts of Springfield, Va., is based on editorial content and overall communications effectiveness and excellence. Barry has received this award annually since 1996.

Her winning entry, the CAMP Annual Report Newsletter: 2011-2012, faired extremely well in the competition. There were some 2,400 entries from the United States and other countries in the competition. Approximately 971 awards of excellence were distributed in 138 subcategories of 12 major areas.

Barry has more than 150 professional publications including 11 books, several book chapters, science encyclopedia entries, journal features, scripts for aired television shows, and music CDs. This work is published in the United States, Japan, England, Australia, Malaysia, China, India and other countries.

In addition to the APEX 2013 Award, Barry has been selected for inclusion in Marquis Who’s Who in the World 2014, Marquis Who’s Who in America 2014 and the Dictionary of International Biography -37th edition, 2014, by the International Biographical Centre in Cambridge, England. Her biography recently appeared in Marquis Who’s Who in the World 2012 and 2013 and in Marquis Who’s Who in America 2013.

Barry has five graduate degrees including a master’s degree in chemistry from Clarkson University and a Ph.D. in engineering from Osaka University in Japan.

Barry has the official title of visiting professor (2012-2014) in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Suzuka National College of Technology (SNCT) in Japan. She will serve as a visiting professor there this September. Her research collaborator at SNCT is Dean Professor Hideyuki Kanematsu. In addition, she is scientific board president for Ansted University and an officer for the Northern New York section of the American Chemical Society.