Clarkson students' video chosen as finalist at student media competition
Monday, April 1, 2013 - 9:35 am

A video produced by a team of Clarkson University students was named one of five finalists in the Best Video Feature Segment category of the National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition. Back row: Caitlin Walsh and John Warzala. Front row: Chris Merrill, Zach Durocher, Ellen Heenan, and their professor, Stephen Farina.

POTSDAM -- A video produced by a team of Clarkson University students was chosen as a finalist in the “Best Video Feature Segment” category at the 2013 National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition.

The students researched, wrote, directed, shot and edited "North Country Robotics: Building Leaders in Technology," a three-minute video feature about the First Robotics Competition sponsored by Clarkson in 2012.

Zachary Durocher, Ellen Heenan, Chris Merrill of Hannawa Falls, Caitlin Walsh and John Warzala created the video for an assignment in the COMM 330 science journalism course, taught by Stephen Farina.

“The students really captured the significance and excitement of First Robotics at Clarkson,” said Farina. “The video team followed the work of robotics groups through to the climactic final event last December in Clarkson’s Student Center.”

“The announcement of our spot in the finals was a great surprise,” said Warzala. “Looking back on developing the project, we spent a lot of time envisioning our final product and breaking it down into achievable steps to get there in time.”

“It feels pretty good to have your hard work recognized like this,” said Heenan. “Being finalists in a competition against some of these top schools is a reward in itself.”

“I’m particularly happy about the award because this was the first time we offered the course and entered this competition,” said Farina. “The outstanding work of this team sets the bar high for future students who will take this course and follow this path. I can’t wait to teach the course again!”

The competition is sponsored by the National Broadcasting Society.