Members’ Juried Art Exhibition opens in Ogdensburg at the Frederick Remington Art Museum May 20
Friday, May 12, 2017 - 11:49 am

Inflexio, 2017 by John Morrow, Acrylic, 27 x 33

OGDENSBURG -- The Frederic Remington Art Museum’s 2017 Members’ Juried Art Exhibition will open Saturday, May 20, with a public reception from 2-4 p.m..

The museum, 303 Washington St., received 130 images submitted by 53 artists for consideration in the show.

Juror Anne Swiderski selected 61 works to be in the exhibition, which will run through the museum's busy summer season, until Sept. 17.

The theme for this year is "reflection." Some of these artists have been exhibiting at the Remington since the museum began doing juried art exhibits in 2001, and some are participating for the first time.

There will be a Best in Show prize of $100, second prize of $75 and a third place prize of $50. The prizes will be announced at 3 p.m.

At the end of the exhibition, on Sept. 17, a public’s choice award, a framed print of Remington’s, “White Wings 1894,” will be announced.

Anyone can vote for their favorite artwork from May 20 until Sept. 13, at the museum, or on the website, One vote per person, please.

Many of the works will be for sale. One third of the proceeds benefit the Frederic Remington Art Museum, and two thirds go to the artist. The exhibit will have an online gallery at

The artists in the exhibition are:

Ravinder N. Agarwal, Eric Drayse, Dave Ferry, Jim Lyons-Hart, Pamela Morley, John Morrow, Thomas Robarge, Susan Robinson, Mary Simon, Barbara Briggs Ward, all of Ogdensburg; Pamela Winchester, Hammond; Craig Chevalier, Massena; Kathleen Kelly and Jay Paquette, both of Morristown; Marc Montroy and Beverly Patchin, both of Lisbon;

Joshua Crabtree, Kylee Disotelle, Samantha Johnson, Julie Pratt, all of Canton; Pat Harrington and Mark Keller, both of Norwood; Ola Aldous, DeKalb; Paul Pedersen, Hermon; Suzan McDermott, Gouverneur; Royce Savage, Potsdam; Eve Whalen and Raymond Whalen, both of South Colton; John Jungklaus, Chase Mills;

Kathy Braceland, Trout Lake, WA; Gerard Butler, Garrison; Daniel Cogne, Gatineau, QC; John Elwood Cook, Wellesley Island; Ruth Crotty, Saratoga Springs; Louise Currin, Hadley, MA; Gregg Fedchak, Boonville; Frederick Holman, Brant Lake; Stephen Horne, Paul Smiths; Margaret Hyde, Santa Monica, CA; Marion Kratky, Northville; Gary Larsen, Edinburg; Diane Leifheit, Paul Smiths;

Vickie McMillan, The Woodlands, TX; Kathleen Mereand, Watertown; Christopher Miller, Lowville; Lynne Reichhart, Westernville; Terry Sametz, Mary Ann Varley, of Ottawa, ON; Eleanor Sweeney and Kenneth Wiley, both of Saranac Lake; Christine Tisa, Clayton; Janet Marie Yeates, Northville; Sandra Young, Dickinson,.

The next opportunity for artists to enter in a juried exhibit at the museum is in the fall, for the 2017 International Juried Art Exhibit. That exhibit is open to artists within 100 miles of Ogdensburg.