Massena BDC awarded $123,500 to construct rail spur; project expected to create seven new jobs and retain 119
Tuesday, October 2, 2012 - 1:59 pm

MASSENA -- The Business Development Corporation for a Greater Massena will receive $123,500 to construct a rail spur on the existing CSX St. Lawrence Subdivision.

U.S. Senators Charles E. Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand and Congressman Bill Owens announced the funding Tuesday.

“The NBRC funding is a sweet success for the Northern New York Maple project and Massena’s new industrial park, as well as the local economy and jobs in the North Country,” Sen. Schumer said.

Funding for the Business Development Corporation will be matched by state and local funds, for a total project cost of $548,500. The new CSX rail spur will serve an industrial park in support of the local forest products industry. NBRC estimates this will create seven jobs and retain 119.

“This federal funding will help boost local economic development efforts. In Massena, this support will help build the rail infrastructure needed to help a local company expand while attracting new businesses into the industrial park," Sen. Gillibrand said.

"This is a perfect example of putting the unique assets and characteristics of the region to good use for job creation and economic development,” Congressman Owens said.

Also awarded funding through the NBRC was The Wild Center which will receive $158,120 to help implement its Northern New York Maple project.

The Wild Center

Funding for The Wild Center will be matched for a total project cost of $258,656. The money will be used to implement the Northern New York Maple project, in collaboration with the Cornell Sugar Maple Research and Extension program.

The Wild Center has partnered with Paul Smith’s College Visitor Interpretative Center on the project, which will help train local maple producer, create maple sugaring demonstration sites and promote further growth in the industry. NBRC estimates the project will create 40 jobs in the region.

The NBRC was created by Congress to spur economic development in a 36 county region throughout New York, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine.